No. 7 Buckeyes Welcome No. 1 Iowa to Columbus Sunday

Jan. 2, 2015


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Coming off a three-week layoff, the seventh-ranked Ohio State wrestling team ushers in 2015 with a showdown in its Big Ten opener against top-ranked Iowa on Sunday inside St. John Arena. The match is set for 2 p.m. and can be seen live on BTN Plus (subscription required). Twitter updates will also be available by following @wrestlingbucks.

Fans are encouraged to arrive at St. John Arena early on Sunday (doors open at 1 p.m.) and refer to the following link for a parking map:


  • Ranked seventh in this week's USA Today/NWCA poll, Ohio State is 4-2 on the year with wins over Kent State, Army, Arizona State and Virginia.
  • In its last dual meet action, the Buckeyes were edged by fifth-ranked Missouri, 20-19, on tiebreaker criteria. Ohio State won five of 10 matches, including a 15-5 major decision victory by freshman Kyle Snyder at 197 pounds over John Eblen.
  • At the Cliff Keen Invitational in Las Vegas, Nev. Dec. 5-6, Ohio State finished second out of 39 teams in a field that featured 11 ranked teams.
  • Logan Stieber won the 141-pound title, winning all five of his matches via bonus points, and also recorded his 100th career victory.
  • Ohio State’s lineup features eight wrestlers that are ranked in the top ten of their respective weight classes – Nathan Tomasello (eighth, 125 lbs.), Johnni DiJulius (ninth, 133 lbs.), Logan Stieber (first, 141 lbs.), Hunter Stieber (fifth, 149 lbs.), Josh Demas (sixth, 157 lbs.), Bo Jordan (ninth, 165 lbs.), Kyle Snyder (seventh, 197 lbs.) and Nick Tavanello (10th, 285 lbs.)

125: #8 Nathan Tomasello (14-3) vs. #4 Thomas Gilman (14-1)
133: #9 Johnni DiJulius (16-1) vs. #4 Cory Clark (14-0)
141: #1 Logan Stieber (11-0) vs. #6 Josh Dziewa (15-2)
149: #5 Hunter Stieber (0-1) or Randy Languis (7-5) vs. Brody Grothus (14-2) or #10 Brandon Sorensen (19-2)  
157: #6 Josh Demas (9-0) vs. Edwin Cooper, Jr. (8-3) or Michael Kelly (14-1)
165: #9 Bo Jordan (5-0) or Justin Kresevic (10-10) vs. #7 Nick Moore (12-3)
174: #12 Mark Martin (11-6) vs. #3 Mike Evans (14-0)
184: #12 Kenny Courts (12-2) vs. #8 Sammy Brooks (14-1)
197: #7 Kyle Snyder (14-1) vs. #6 Nathan Burak (9-0) or Kris Klapprodt (10-5)
285: #10 Nick Tavanello (13-5) vs. #3 Bobby Telford (14-0) 

Iowa is ranked No. 1 this week in the National Wrestling Coaches Association poll and is 5-0 on the year with wins over Baker College, Iowa Central CC, Cornell College, Iowa State and Michigan State. The Hawkeyes feature seven wrestlers with NCAA experience and eight that are currently ranked in the top 10 of their respective weight classes by       

Ohio State has just three wins all time against the Hawkeyes, but the most recent one came the last time the two teams faced off at St. John Arena – a 21-9 Buckeye triumph over the second-ranked Hawkeyes on January 20, 2012. In that match, Ohio State won five consecutive matches from 133-165 pounds en route to its first win over the Hawkeyes since 1966.

In a tightly contested, back-and-forth match, fifth-ranked Missouri edged seventh-ranked Ohio State 20-19 on the fourth tiebreaker criteria (first takedown of the first match) in front of 2,666 fans at St. John Arena on Dec. 14.

With Ohio State leading the overall team score 19-16 and just the 285-pound match remaining, Missouri's J'den  Cox bumped up from his usual position of 197 and wrestled the Buckeyes' Nick Tavanello. Cox, the reigning national champion at 197, defeated Tavanello 4-2 on the strength of a third-period takedown. After being knotted on pins/forfeits (1-1) and total match points (48-48), the tie was broken on the first takedown of the first match, which went to Missouri's Alan Waters. It is the second time this year Ohio State has lost a dual meet on tiebreaker criteria.

Ohio State head football coach Urban Meyer will serve as one of the Buckeyes’ honorary coaches for Sunday’s match. Meyer, a finalist this past year for two national Coach of the Year awards, led the Buckeyes to a spot in the inaugural College Football Playoff this season after earning the school’s 35th Big Ten championship.

The other two honorary coaches will be Chet Scott, the founder of Built to Lead, and Stuart Burgdoerfer, the Chief Financial Officer of L Brands and a state runner up as a wrestler in high school.

2014-15 CAPTAINS
Four members of the Ohio State wrestling team – redshirt senior Logan Stieber, redshirt freshmen Bo Jordan and Nathan Tomasello and true freshman Kyle Snyder – have been voted captains for the 2014-15 season, head coach Tom Ryan announced.

Single match tickets for Ohio State wrestling are on sale now and can be secured by visiting

Fans interested in purchasing tickets can contact the Ohio State Athletic Ticket Sales Department at 1-800-GOBUCKS (select option 2) or for pricing, details and information. Information on the Big Ten Wrestling Championships, hosted at Ohio State March 7-8, 2015, is also available at

Ohio State will close out its three-match homestand when it welcomes fourth-ranked Penn State to Columbus on Jan. 11 at 2 p.m. The match will be streamed live on BTN Plus.