Logan, Hunter Stieber Advance to NCAA Championships Semifinals

Go Buckeyes! Freshman Mark Martin won two matches at the NCAA championships and nearly upset No. 1 seed Kyle Dake in the first round.
Go Buckeyes!
Freshman Mark Martin won two matches at the NCAA championships and nearly upset No. 1 seed Kyle Dake in the first round.
Go Buckeyes!

Updated Brackets | Championship Central | Facebook | Twitter | Live Results

March 22, 2013

COLUMBUS, OhioLogan Stieber and Hunter Stieber, members of the Ohio State wrestling team, advanced to the semifinals of the 2013 NCAA Championships Friday after winning their quarterfinal matches at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines, Iowa. The Buckeye duo will wrestle again at 7 p.m. ET Friday night live on ESPNU.

As a team, the Buckeyes slipped to seventh place with 30.5 points. Penn State is still leading the field with 77.5 points, while Oklahoma State is in second with 65.5 points. Minnesota rounds out the Top 3 with 49.5 points.

The No. 1 seed at 133 pounds, L. Stieber recorded his third bonus-point victory of the championships when he posted a 17-1 technical fall over eighth-seed Cody Brewer of Oklahoma. Up next, Stieber will face No. 4 seed A.J. Schopp of Edinboro in the semifinals. Schopp was an 11-7 victor over No. 5 Chris Dardanes of Minnesota in his quarterfinal match.

H. Stieber, the No. 1 seed at 141 pounds, edged No. 9 Richard Durso of Franklin & Marshall, 9-8, in a dramatic finish. Down, 8-7, in the final minute of the match, Stieber scored what would be the match-winning takedown. With Durso on bottom, an escape would tie the score and subsequently send the bout into sudden victory. However, Stieber held on for the final seconds to earn a bid into the semifinals.



Quarterfinalists Josh Demas and Nick Heflin, the eighth seed, met tough competition in No. 2 Derek St. John of Iowa and No. 1 Chris Perry of Oklahoma State, respectively. Both wrestlers gave the top seeded wrestlers their all as Demas dropped a 4-0 decision and Heflin took Perry to a tiebreaker which he lost, 3-2. Demas will face No. 5 James Fleming of Clarion Friday evening in wrestlebacks. Up next, Heflin will face Matt Mougin of Northern Iowa.

Seniors Nikko Triggas and C.J. Magrum and freshman Mark Martin were eliminated from competition Friday. Triggas dropped a 9-4 decision to No. 12 Tyler Cox of Wyoming, while Magrum lost to Mason Bailey of Navy, 6-1. Martin went 1-1 Friday, first beating Appalachian State’s Zach Strickland, 2-0, before falling to Iowa State Michael Moreno via fall, 4:28.

Triggas concluded his career as a four-time NCAA championships qualifier and 2010 All-American. The Moraga, Calif., native also ended his career tied for second place in the Ohio State records book for falls with 47.

A four-time NCAA championships qualifier, Magrum is a three-time team captain. Academically, Magrum is a NWCA All-Academic Team recipient (2010-12), three-time Big Ten Distinguished Scholar, three-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree and four-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete.

2013 Division I Wrestling NCAA Championships
March 21, 2013
Session III
Wells Fargo Arena
Des Moines, Iowa

Team Scores Pl. Team Points
1. Penn State 77.5
2. Oklahoma State 65.5
3. Minnesota 49.5
4. Iowa 39.0
5. Missouri 38.5
6. Cornell 37.0
7. Ohio State 30.5
8. Edinboro 27.0
8. Nebraska 27.0
10. Oregon State 26.0

Individual Results
Evan Silver (Stanford) dec. No. 11 Nikko Triggas, 5-2
No. 11 Nikko Triggas major dec. Eric Montoya (Campbell), 10-0
No. 12 Tyler Cox (Wyoming) dec. No. 11 Nikko Triggas, 9-4

No. 1 Logan Stieber pins Brandon Gambucci (Duke), 3:00
No. 1 Logan Stieber pins Shelton Mack (Pittsburgh), 2:40
No. 1 Logan Stieber tech. fall No. 8 Cody Brewer (Oklahoma), 17-1 (3:43)
No. 1 Logan Stieber vs. No. 4 A.J. Schopp (Edinboro)

No. 1 Hunter Stieber dec. Joseph Spisak (Virginia), 8-5
No. 1 Hunter Stieber dec. Steven Keith (Harvard), 7-3
No. 1 Hunter Stieber dec. No. 9 Richard Durso (Franklin & Marshall), 9-8
No. 1 Hunter Stieber vs. No. 4 Mitchell Port (Edinboro)

Josh Demas dec. No. 10 Roger Pena (Oregon State), 7-6
Josh Demas dec. No. 7 Jesse Dong (Virginia Tech), 4-3
No. 2 Derek St. John (Iowa) dec. Josh Demas, 4-0
Josh Demas vs. No. 5 James Fleming (Clarion)

No. 1 Kyle Dake (Cornell) dec. Mark Martin, 3-0
Mark Martin dec. Peyton Walsh (Navy), 6-1
Mark Martin dec. Zach Strickland (Appalachian State), 2-0
Michael Moreno (Iowa State) pins Mark Martin, 4:28

No. 8 Nick Heflin dec. Greg Zannetti (Rutgers), 3-1sv
No. 8 Nick Heflin dec. Hunter Gambel (Gardner-Webb), 8-2
No. 1 Chris Perry (Oklahoma State) dec. No. 8 Nick Heflin, 3-2tb1
No. 8 Nick Heflin vs. Matt Mougin (Northern Iowa)

Daniel Rinaldi (Rutgers) dec. C.J. Magrum, 6-0
C.J. Magrum dec. Casey Newburg (Kent State), 3-1
Mason Bailey (Navy) dec. C.J. Magrum, 6-1