Stieber Brothers Will Vie for Big Ten Titles Sunday

Go Buckeyes! Nikko Triggas moved into a tie for second place on the Buckeye all-time list for falls with 47.
Go Buckeyes!
Nikko Triggas moved into a tie for second place on the Buckeye all-time list for falls with 47.
Go Buckeyes!

March 9, 2013

Championship Central | Brackets | Live Streaming | Live Results | Facebook | Twitter

COLUMBUS, Ohio– Logan and Hunter Stieber, members of the Ohio State wrestling team, will compete for Big Ten titles at 133 and 141 pounds, respectively, after winning their semifinal matches Saturday night at Assembly Hall in Champaign, Ill. The Buckeyes remain in fourth place with 92 points. Penn State has taken the lead with 123 points. Minnesota is second with 112.5 points and Iowa is third with 109 points.

Action will continue at 12:30 p.m. ET Sunday, while the championship finals will start at 2:30 p.m. ET live on BTN.

L. Stieber recorded his second fall of the championships and 12th of the season in his semifinal match vs. fourth-seed Jordan Conaway of Penn State. Bettering his previous fall by two seconds, L. Stieber downed Conaway in 1:28.

Forced into sudden victory, H. Stieber held on for a 10-8 win vs. Purdue’s and fifth-seed Brandon Nelsen. At the close of the second period, Nelsen scored a reversal and back points to cut H. Stieber’s lead to one (8-7) and owning the riding time advantage nearly upset the top-seeded Buckeye. However, H. Stieber scored the match-winning takedown in the bonus period to secure his place in the championship final.

Six Buckeyes – Nikko Triggas (125 pounds), Ian Paddock (149 pounds), Josh Demas (157 pounds), Nick Heflin (174 pounds), C.J. Magrum (184 pounds) and Andrew Campolattano (197 pounds) – will contend for third place.



Triggas moved into a tie for second place in Ohio State’s records book for career falls with 47 after he pinned Nebraska’s Eric Coufal in 53 seconds. Triggas, who would go on to post a 4-2 win vs. Joe Duca of Indiana, is tied with Ed Potokar (1980-83). Don Moxley (1983-85) is the Buckeyes’ all-time falls leader with 50.

Following his stunning upset over No. 1 seed Eric Grajales of Michigan in the quarterfinals, Paddock dropped an 11-5 decision to No. 4 Jake Sueflohn of Nebraska. After taking a quick 2-0 lead, Paddock gave up an escape, takedown and back points and trailed Sueflohn, 5-2, at the end of the first period. Behind, 8-3, at the start of the third period, Paddock was able to chip away at Sueflohn’s lead with an escape to make the score, 8-4, but Sueflohn proved to be too much as he tacked on a final takedown.

Demas suffered a heartbreaking 2-0 loss to second-seed Jason Welch of Northwestern. A lone takedown by Welch in the third period was sufficient for the win.

Rebounding from his quarterfinal loss, Heflin won back-to-back matches in wrestlebacks, including a 3-1 sudden victory vs. No. 1 seed Logan Storley of Minnesota. Heflin and Storley wrestled to a scoreless first period, before both wrestlers recorded escapes in the second and third periods, respectively. It was in overtime, Heflin scored a takedown to keep him alive for a Top 3 finish. Prior to his match vs. Storley, Heflin pinned No. 11 Jordan Wohlfert of Michigan State in 1:41.

Vying for a third-place finish, Magrum owned a 4-1 lead heading into the second period vs. Northwestern’s Jacob Berkowitz that ended with a 9-3 win. Scoring his second-consecutive victory, which included three takedowns, Magrum defeated Michigan’s Chris Heald, 8-4.

A single escape by No. 1 seed Quentin Wright of Penn State was enough to knock Campolattano to wrestlebacks as the Buckeye lost, 1-0.

Mark Martin will compete for seventh place Sunday after going 1-1 in wrestlebacks. Martin held on for a 3-1 sudden victory vs. No. 10 Pat Robinson of Purdue, but fell, 5-0, to fifth-seed Cody Yohn of Minnesota. Martin and Robinson traded escapes in the second and third periods, forcing the bout into overtime. In extra time, Martin was able to score a takedown en route to his match vs. Yohn.

Heavyweight Kosta Karageorge was eliminated from competition after losing his second match of the championship to Michigan’s and eighth-seed Ben Apland, 7-0.

2013 Big Ten Championships
March 9, 2013
Session II
Assembly Hall
Champaign, Ill.

Team Standings
1. Penn State 123 points
2. Minnesota 112.5 points
3. Iowa 109 points
4. Ohio State 92 points
5. Illinois 73.5 points
6. Michigan 61 points
7. Nebraska 52 points
8. Northwestern 50 points
9. Purdue 28 points
10. Indiana 26.5 points
11. Wisconsin 26 points
12. Michigan State 17 points

Individual Results
No. 5 Nikko Triggas dec. Brenan Lyon (Michigan State), 4-2
No. 4 Sean Boyle (Michigan) dec. No. 5 Nikko Triggas, 4-2
No. 5 Nikko Triggas pins Eric Coufal (Nebraska), :53
No. 5 Nikko Triggas dec. Joe Duca (Indiana), 4-2

No. 1 Logan Stieber pins Rossi Bruno (Michigan), 1:30
No. 1 Logan Stieber pins No. 4 Jordan Conaway (Penn State), 1:28

No. 1 Hunter Stieber dec. Nick Trimble (Michigan State), 10-3
No. 1 Hunter Stieber major dec. No. 8 Camryn Jackson (Michigan), 10-2
No. 1 Hunter Stieber dec. No. 5 Brandon Nelsen (Purdue), 10-8sv

No. 8 Ian Paddock dec. No. 1 Eric Grajales (Michigan), 7-4
No. 4 Jake Sueflohn (Nebraska) dec. No. 8 Ian Paddock, 11-5

No. 6 Josh Demas dec. No. 3 Dylan Alton (Penn State), 5-1(sv2)
No. 2 Jason Welch (Northwestern) dec. No. 6 Josh Demas, 2-0

No. 9 Mark Martin dec. No. 8 Austin Wilson (Nebraska), 6-2
No. 1 David Taylor (Penn State) tech fall No. 9 Mark Martin, 20-5 (5:44)
No. 9 Mark Martin dec. No. 10 Pat Robinson (Purdue), 3-1sv
No. 5 Cody Yohn (Minnesota) dec. No. 9 Mark Martin, 5-0

No. 5 Matt Brown (Penn State) dec. No. 4 Nick Heflin, 7-1
No. 4 Nick Heflin pins No. 11 Jordan Wohlfert (Michigan State), 1:41
No. 4 Nick Heflin dec. No. 1 Logan Storley (Minnesota), 3-1sv

No. 8 C.J. Magrum major tech fall Ben Cox (Wisconsin), 17-0 (5:42)
No. 1 Ed Ruth (Penn State) tech fall No. 8 C.J. Magrum, 19-3 (5:38)
No. 8 C.J. Magrum dec. Jacob Berkowitz (Northwestern), 9-3
No. 8 C.J. Magrum vs. Chris Heald (Michigan), 8-4

No. 4 Andrew Campolattano dec. Braden Atwood (Purdue), 7-6
No. 1 Quentin Wright (Penn State) dec. No. 4 Andrew Campolattano, 1-0

No. 7 Jimmy Lawson (Penn State) major dec. No. 10 Kosta Karageorge, 9-1
No. 8 Ben Apland (Michigan) dec. No. 10 Kosta Karageorge, 7-0
*No. 10 Kosta Karageorge dec. No. 11 Chris Lopez (Illinois), 8-3

*bonus bout for NCAA qualifying purposes