Shawn Sangrey Named MIVA Player of the Year

Go Buckeyes! Shawn Sangrey
Go Buckeyes!
Shawn Sangrey
Go Buckeyes!

April 20, 2012

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Senior opposite Shawn Sangrey of the Ohio State men’s volleyball team was named the 2012 Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association’s Player of the Year, the league announced Friday. It marks the third consecutive year a Buckeye has won the MIVA’s top honor and it’s the 20th in the program’s history.

Sangrey guided Ohio State to a 9-3 conference record, a share of its sixth consecutive regular season MIVA championship and the No. 1 seed in the MIVA Tournament. The Columbia, Pa., product enters the league tournament ranked first in the nation with a 4.97 kills-per-set average, including a 5.00 average in league play.

A five-time MIVA Offensive player of the Week and the March 6 Sports Imports/AVCA Division I-II Men’s National Player of the Week, Sangrey also averaged 5.70 points, 2.00 digs, 0.36 aces and hit .262 in conference play.

Joining Sangrey on the MIVA All-Conference First Team is classmate Mik Berzins. The outside hitter from Brinklow, Md., averaged 2.78 kills per set in league play and was among the MIVA’s best in digs with a 2.04 digs average. He also finished eighth in conference matches with a 3.34 points average and 10th with a .296 attack percentage.

Redshirt freshman Peter Heinen earned a spot on the league’s second team after guiding the Buckeye offense all season. The Wauwatosa, Wis., native finished second among the conference’s setters with an 11.32 assists-per-set average vs. MIVA opponents. He also totaled 23 blocks for a 0.56 average and had a 1.59 digs average.

Middle blocker John Tholen was also placed on the second team. The Hilliard, Ohio, product finished with a 0.91 blocks-per-set average in 43 sets played vs. the MIVA. He averaged 1.42 kills and had a team-best .398 attack percentage in league play.



The MIVA Tournament opens today (Friday) with both No. 2 seed Lewis and No. 3 seed Loyola-Chicago hosting quarterfinal matches. The Flyers host No. 6 seed IPFW, while the Ramblers host No. 7 seed Quincy with both matches starting at 7 p.m. (CT). The final quarterfinal match will take place Saturday, when No. 4 seed Grand Canyon hosts No. 5 seed Ball State at 6 p.m. (MST).

The quarterfinal winners advance to the semifinals Wednesday, April 25. No. 1 seed Ohio State will host one semifinal, playing the winner of Ball State at Grand Canyon. The other two quarterfinal winners will play at the site of the higher remaining seed.

The tournament championship match will be played Saturday, April 28 at the site of the highest remaining seed. The winner of the MIVA Tournament will earn the league’s automatic bid into the 2012 NCAA Men’s Volleyball Championships hosted by USC at the Galen Center in Los Angeles, Calif. The two semifinal matches will be played May 3, culminating with the championship match May 5.

2012 MIVA First Team All-Conference

Athlete School Pos. Ht. Yr. Hometown
Mik Berzins (3) Ohio State OH 6-3 Sr. Brinklow, Md.
BJ Boldog (9) Lewis S 6-4 RSo. Palatine, Ill.
Trent Bruns (6,8) Grand Canyon *L 6-0 Jr. Mission Viejo, Calif.
Mike Bunting (1,3,5,8) Loyola-Chicago OH 6-4 Sr. Wyomissing, Pa.
Aaron Flick (9) Lewis MH 6-8 RSr. North Ridgeville, Ohio
Peter Jasaitis Loyola-Chicago *L 6-0 RSo. Manhattan Beach, Calif.
Ivan Matos IPFW OH 6-4 Sr. Guaynabo, P.R.
Jay Petty (8) Lewis OH 6-6 Jr. Downers Grove, Ill.
Ben Ponnet Grand Canyon OH 6-4 So. Merchtem, Belgium
Shawn Sangrey (5,8) Ohio State OPP 6-5 Sr. Columbia, Pa.
Joseph Smalzer (7,8) Loyola-Chicago OPP 6-8 RSo. Palos Heights, Ill.

*Two liberos on the first team due to a tie in the voting

2012 MIVA Second Team All-Conference

Steven Battaglia Quincy MH 6-6 So. Fayetteville, Ohio
Dainis Berzins Loyola-Chicago OH 6-5 So. Brinklow, Md.
Matt Gallick (6,9) Lewis MH 6-6 RSr. Evergreen Park, Ill.
Peter Heinen Ohio State S 6-4 RFr. Wauwatosa, Wis.
Matt Leske Ball State MH 6-7 RSo. Highwood, Ill.
Ryan Mather Grand Canyon MH 6-6 Fr. Redondo Beach, Calif.
Kevin Owens Ball State MH 6-9 So. Fishers, Ind.
Eddie Rivera (9) IPFW OH 6-2 So. Carolinas, P.R.
John Tholen Ohio State MH 6-6 RJr. Hilliard, Ohio

MIVA Player of the Year: Shawn Sangrey, Ohio State
MIVA Freshman of the Year:
Geoff Powell, Lewis
MIVA Coach of the Year:
Jeremy Price, Grand Canyon

1 Indicates 2009 MIVA Freshman of the Year
2 Indicates 2009 MIVA First Team All-Conference Selection
3 Indicates 2009 MIVA Second Team All-Conference Selection
4 Indicates 2010 MIVA Player of the Year
5 Indicates 2010 MIVA First Team All-Conference Selection
6 Indicates 2010 MIVA Second Team All-Conference Selection
7 Indicates 2011 MIVA Freshman of the Year
8 Indicates 2011 MIVA First Team All-Conference Selection
9 Indicates 2011 MIVA Second Team All-Conference Selection