Hartfield, Stanley Win Big Ten Titles; No. 23 Buckeyes Finish Sixth

Go Buckeyes! Billy Stanley.
Go Buckeyes!
Billy Stanley.
Go Buckeyes!

May 12, 2013

Photo Gallery 

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Senior Michael Hartfield and freshman Billy Stanley won Big Ten crowns on the final day of competition at the 2013 Big Ten Outdoor Championships Sunday afternoon at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium, helping No. 23 Ohio State to a sixth-place team finish.

Hartfield won his second conference title of the weekend, following up his win in the long jump Saturday with a Sunday victory in the triple jump. Clearing 15.62m (51-3.00) on his second attempt, the Manchester, Conn., native edged Minnesota’s Oladipo Fagbemi (15.51m/50-10.75) for the gold medal. He is the first Buckeye to double up in the triple and long jumps at the Big Ten outdoor championships since Joe Greene in 1989.

Stanley won the first Big Ten title of his career in impressive fashion, setting a Big Ten meet- and Ohio State school-record of 75.23m (246-10.00) on his first attempt to capture gold. Runner-up honors went to Iowa’s Matt Byers (72.45m/237-8.00).

No. 13 Nebraska dominated the team competition, finishing the meet with 131.5 points. Minnesota finished second with 93 points, followed by No. 10 Wisconsin (86.5). Ohio State closed the meet with a team score of 84, as the third- through sixth-place teams finished within 2.5 points of one another.

Here’s a complete recap of the final day of competition for the Buckeyes:


Sophomore Timothy Faust earned a bronze medal with a third-place time of 10.44, a personal best.  Iowa’s Justin Austin was the winner in 10.27.

110m Hurdles

Freshman Donovan Robertson (14.14) and junior Demoye Bogle (14.15) finished fourth and fifth, respectively, for Ohio State. Vanier Joseph of Illinois took the title in 13.70.


Faust earned more hardware with a runner-up finish in the 200m in a time of 21.15. Austin of the Iowa was the winner once again in a time of 20.86.

400m Hurdles

Sophomore Antonio Blanks was seventh in a time of 53.43. Iowa’s Ethan Holmes won the championship in 50.78.


Senior Chris Fallon turned on the jets over the final 400 meters to capture the bronze medal in a time of 3:48.37. Defending national champion Andy Bayer of Indiana was the winner in 3:44.24.

4x100m Relay

Junior Devin Smith, Faust, sophomore Nick Batcha and Bogle finished fourth overall in a time of 40.59. Iowa won the title in a time of 40.20.

4x400m Relay

In the final event of the day, freshman Champ Page, senior Korbin Smith, junior Javon Walker and Blanks combined for a fourth-place time of 3:11.10. Nebraska put a bow on its team title with a victory in the 4x4 in a time of 3:07.87. 

Final Team Standings

1) No. 13 Nebraska – 131.5 points

2) Minnesota – 93

3) No. 10 Wisconsin – 86.5

4) Illinois – 86

5) No. 18 Iowa – 85

6) No. 23 Ohio State – 84

7) Indiana – 67.5

8) No. 11 Penn State – 59

9) Purdue – 56

10) Michigan – 36

11) Michigan State – 33.5