27th Jesse Owens Track Classic Off to a Fast Start

Go Buckeyes! Kenny Stephens
Go Buckeyes!
Kenny Stephens
Go Buckeyes!

April 13, 2012

Photo Gallery

Friday Results Get Acrobat Reader

COLUMBUS, Ohio - The Ohio State men's track and field team opened competition at the 27th Jesse Owens Track Classic Friday evening at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium.

The first night of events highlighted field and distance athletes and featured a meet record in the 5000m from unattached competitor Jeff Schirmer (13:59.59).

Day two begins at 10:30 a.m. ET with competition in the pole vault. Running events commence at noon ET.

Take a look at the first day event-by-event:

Chris Fallon used a PR of 3:46.06 to finish fourth overall in the 1500m. Unattached competitor Ian Boyle was the winner in a time of 3:45.38, followed by Josh McAlary of Michigan State (3:45.55) and Terefe Ejigu of Eastern Michigan (3:45.58).

3000m Steeplechase
Eastern Michigan finished 1-2 in the event. Daryl Smith placed first at 9:07.37, with Nick Petro claiming second at 9:11.13. Stewart Jones of Wheeling Jesuit turned in a third-place time of 9:12.51.

Schirmer's meet-record time earned him the win in the 5000m. Second place went to Michigan State's David Madrigal (14:02.54) and third place to David Laney of Hansons-Brooks ODP (14.03.07). OSU freshman Curtis Hanle, competing unattached, won section two of the race in a time of 14:40.13, good for 15th overall.

Michigan State claimed two of the top-3 spots, led by Lonnie Pugh at 56.98m (186-11). Unattached competitor John Bowman was second (56.87m/186-7), followed by the Spartan Antonio James (53.59m/175-10).

Miami Valley's David Diercks was the winner at 65.28m (214-2). Second place went to Ohio State's Kenny Stephens (61.98m/203-4), with unattached competitor Thomas Stoltz finishing third with a 61.76m (202-7) toss.