4x400-Meter Relay Wins at Notre Dame

Feb. 8, 2014

Complete Results | Akron Results

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State 4x400-meter relay team ran a season-best time of 3:08.34 to capture first-place honors at Notre Dame Saturday night, highlighting the Buckeyes’ two-meet weekend at the Meyo Invitational in South Bend, Ind., and the Akron Invitational in Akron, Ohio.

Sophomore Champ Page, senior Jordan Rispress, sophomore Armand Austin and freshman Lamar Bruton combined to finish .05 seconds ahead of runner-up and host Notre Dame. The Buckeyes’ winning time ranks 14th in Division I so far this season.

Other highlights from the weekend:

60m (Akron)

In his first action of the season, junior Devin Smith placed seventh overall in 7.03 seconds. Akron’s Bryce Cheek placed first (6.84).

200m (Meyo)

Ninth place went to junior Nick Batcha in a time of 21.55. Calvin Edwards was the winner in 21.21.

5000m (Meyo)

Sophomore Blake Taneff used a personal-best time of 14:26.97 to place seventh overall. Jake Waterman of Purdue took home first place in 14:16.37.

Shot Put (Akron)

A throw of 17.63 meters (57-10.25) helped junior J.C. Murasky place fourth. Former Buckeye Matt DeChant was the winner at 18.45 meters (60-6.50).

Weight Throw Open (Akron)

Junior Dylan Vogt finished first overall at 18.67 meters (61-3.00), while freshman Aaron Zedella was fourth (17.88 meters/58-8.00).

High Jump (Akron)

Smith cleared the bar at 2.05 meters (6-8.75) on his third attempt for a third-place finish, while freshman Josh Fridley placed fourth overall (1.95 meters/6-4.75). Akron’s Martel Durant was the champion at 2.05 meters, clearing the bar on his first attempt.

Triple Jump (Meyo)

Fourth place went to sophomore Julian Vann at 15.01 meters (49-3.00). Louisville’s Ben Williams cleared 16.00 meters (52-6.00) for the victory.

Pole Vault (Akron)

Senior Cody Marshall used a season-best height of 4.96 meters (16-3.25) to finish fourth. Shawn Barber of Akron was first at 5.66 meters (18-6.75).

Ohio State returns to action next Friday and Saturday at the SPIRE DI Invitational in Geneva, Ohio, and the Don Kirby Elite Invitational in Albuquerque, N.M.