Buckeyes Wrap up Competition at Indiana Relays

Feb. 1, 2014

Complete Results

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State men’s track and field team wrapped up competition in Bloomington, Ind. Saturday at the Indiana Relays.

Final Results can be found here: http://www.iuhoosiers.com/livestats/c-track/IndRel14/.

"Josh Sabo and Lamar Bruton competed very well," Ed Beathea, head coach of the Buckeyes, said. "I was very proud of their effort. This meet positioned us very well for our next meet and this team is coming together nicely. The best meets are still ahead of us."

Here is a recap of the day’s events for Ohio State.

60m hurdles

Senior Justin Hines crossed the finish line sixth overall in a time of 8.07. Greggmar Swift of Indiana State won the race in 7.64 seconds.

200m Invitational

Runner-up honors went to junior Timothy Faust in a time of 21.74, while fellow junior Nick Batcha captured fourth place in 22.04. Brandon Stryganek of Illinois placed first overall in 21.56.

400m Invitational

Freshman Lamar Bruton and sophomore Champ Page completed a Buckeye sweep, finishing 1-2 in time of 48.21 and 48.33, respectively.

600m Invitational

Freshman Anthony Johnson used a time of 1:19.93 to take fourth place. Alabama’s Ken Taylor claimed the win in 1:18.56.

800m Invitational

Sophomore Josh Sabo completed his race in 1:52.33 to place first in his heat and fourth overall. Sam Penzenstadler of Loyola (Ill.) was the champion in a time of 1:51.40.


A season-best time of 4:10.15 helped Sabo to first place.

3000m Invitational

Sophomore Curtis Hanle turned in a personal-best time of 8:18.71 to finish in fourth place. First place went to Penzenstadler of Loyola (Ill.) in 8:10.97.

Pole Vault

Fifth place went to senior Cody Marshall at 4.65 meters (15-3.00). Wes Schenck of Indiana State was the winner at 4.90 meters (16-1.00).

High Jump

Freshman Josh Fridley finished fifth at a height of 1.97 meters (6-5.50). Kemar Jones of Southern Illinois cleared 2.06 meters (6-9.00) for a first-place finish.

4x400m Relay

Ohio State ‘A’ – Senior Jordan Rispress, Bruton, sophomore ­­­­Armand Austin and Page – finished seventh overall in a time of 3:18.59. Indiana Tech took the gold with a time of 3:13.50.