Trio of Buckeyes Earn First Team All-Big Ten Honors

Go Buckeyes! For the seventh-consecutive season, Ty Tucker was named Big Ten Coach of the Year.
Go Buckeyes!
For the seventh-consecutive season, Ty Tucker was named Big Ten Coach of the Year.
Go Buckeyes!

April 26, 2012

COLUMBUS, OhioChase Buchanan, Peter Kobelt and Blaz Rola, members of the No. 3 Ohio State men’s tennis team (29-2; 11-0 Big Ten) were named First Team All-Big Ten the conference announced Thursday evening. Devin McCarthy and Ille Van Engelen earned second team honors and Ty Tucker was presented with head coach of the year accolades for the seventh-consecutive year.

The No. 1 seed Buckeyes earned a first-round bye at the 2012 Big Ten Tournament in Evanston, Ill. Ohio State will face No. 9 Nebraska at 10:30 a.m. ET Friday at the Vandy Christie Tennis Center to open its six-year title defense.

Currently on a 10-match win streak, Buchanan is 25-6 overall, including an 18-3 record in dual action at Nos. 1 and 2 singles. For the third consecutive season, Buchanan, ranked 11th nationally, recorded a 10-0 record in league play. In doubles, Buchanan pairs with Rola and the duo forms the No. 1 team in the country. Combined, Buchanan and Rola are 28-3 overall and post an impressive 19-3 ledger in dual action. During fall tournament play, the tandem won the D’Novo/ITA All-American Doubles championships and the prestigious USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Doubles title. Individually, Buchanan has collected a team-best 36 doubles victories, which includes a 14-0 record in tournaments.

A winner of 22 matches, Kobelt is 22-10 overall. Of those wins, Kobelt’s highlight victory of the season was downing No. 1 Mitchell Frank of Virginia in the semifinals of the 2012 National Team Indoor Championship in Charlottesville, Va., to help lift the Buckeyes to a 4-1 victory over the No. 2 Cavaliers. Kobelt has partnered with Connor Smith in doubles and the duo recorded a 10-0 record in the Big Ten. Mostly playing at No. 3 doubles, Kobelt and Smith are 24-4 overall (15-1 at No. 3) and have won eight consecutive matches.



Rola owns a team-best 29 wins this season as the No. 6 player in the nation. With a 21-3 dual record, Rola also posted an 8-2 mark in the league. At Nos. 1 and 2 singles, Rola is 9-2 and 12-1, respectively and boasts a 12-4 ledger vs. nationally ranked opponents. Individually, Rola has 35 doubles wins.

McCarthy has amassed 26 singles wins, mostly at No. 5 singles (15-2). Owning a 22-3 dual mark, he has reeled off 12 consecutive wins en route to a 10-0 record in the Big Ten. In doubles, McCarthy and Van Engelen are 31st in the nation. The duo has collected a team-leading 30 wins (20-5 in dual competition and 9-2 in Big Ten). Individually, McCarthy has won 31 doubles matches.

On a seven-match win streak, Van Engelen has 25 singles wins to his credit (21-1 dual; 8-1 in Big Ten), playing mostly at No. 4, where he is 14-4. Individually in doubles play, Van Engelen is 32-8.

In his 13th season as head coach of the Buckeyes, Tucker has a career-record of 355-56 (.864). The 2009 Wilson/ITA National Coach of the Year, Tucker has now coached 33 All-Big Ten selections and 10 All-Americans en route to guiding the Buckeyes to seven consecutive Big Ten regular season titles and six-consecutive conference tournament crowns.

2011--12 Men’s Tennis All-Big Ten Teams
First Team All--Big Ten
Roy Kalmanovich, Illinois
Isade Juneau, Indiana
Josh MacTaggart, Indiana
EVAN KING, Michigan
Aaron Pfister, Michigan State
ROK BONIN, Minnesota
Leandro Toledo, Minnesota
Christopher Aumueller, Nebraska
Chase Buchanan, Ohio State – Third Career Honor
Peter Kobelt, Ohio State –First Career Honor
Blaz Rola, Ohio State – Second Career Honor

Second Team All--Big Ten
Alex Petrone, Michigan
Benedikt Lindheim, Nebraska
Josh Graves, Northwestern
Devin McCarthy, Ohio State –Second Career Honor
Ille Van Engelen, Ohio State – Second Career Honor; 2011 First Team recipient)
Mark Kovacs, Purdue

Unanimous selections in CAPS

Individual Awards
Athlete of the Year: Evan King, Michigan
Freshman of the Year: Leandro Toledo, Minnesota
Coach of the Year: Ty Tucker, Ohio State

Bruno Abdelnoor, Illinois
Stephen Vogl, Indiana
Garret Dunn, Iowa
Shaun Bernstein, Michigan
Denis Bogatov, Michigan State
Phillip Arndt, Minnesota
Christopher Aumueller, Nebraska
Sidarth Balaji, Northwestern
Steven Williams, Ohio State
Christopher Hasyn, Penn State
Mark Kovacs, Purdue
Petr Satral, Wisconsin