OSU Cruises Past No. 42 Louisville Into the Sweet 16
May 13, 2017


Results (PDF)
Tournament Central
2016-17 Schedule
2016-17 Stats
Follow the Buckeyes on
Facebook and Twitter

COLUMBUS, Ohio – In its final home match of the season, No. 3 ranked Ohio State knocked-off No. 42 Louisville 4-0 on Saturday afternoon to punch its ticket to next week’s Sweet 16 in Athens, Ga. The Buckeyes will play No. 14 seed Oklahoma on Thursday, May 18 at Noon.

Team Notes

  • The Buckeyes improve to 31-3 on the season and finished the year a perfect 18-0 at home
  • The win also improves Ohio State to 24-0 all-time in NCAA Tournament matches in Columbus
  • In those 24 victories, the Buckeyes have allowed just five points
  • Ohio State has advanced to the Sweet 16 for the 14th time overall including in each of the last 12 seasons
  • The Buckeyes are now 14-1 all-time against Louisville and this was the first victory in the NCAA Tournament.
  • This was the team’s 20th sweep of the season



  • Singles was a bit of tussle between the two teams.
  • Torpegaard and Christopher Morin-Kougoucheff went back and forth in the first set before Torpegaard prevailed 7-4 in a tie-break. The Buckeye then caught his footing in the second set and was leading 5-2 when the match was halted.
  • Pollanen put the second Buckeye point on the board with a dominating 6-0, 6-2 win in his final match in Columbus. The Finland native is not 27-7 on the season and a perfect 9-0 at the No. 5 spot.
  • Di Feo made 3-0 with a 6-2, 6-3 win over Nicolas Rouanet on court three. The win was his 30th of the season and the 53rd of his career.
  • The clinching point came from Joyce on court four. He bested George Hedley 7-5, 6-2 to notch his 17th win of the campaign.
  • Kyle Seelig won the opening set on court six over Clement Filho in a tie-break and then was up 2-1 in the second when the match was halted.

#3 Ohio State 4, #42 Louisville 0

1. #2 Mikael Torpegaard (OSU) vs. #111 C. Morin-Kougoucheff (LOU-MT) 7-6 (7-4), 5-2, unfinished
2. #46 JJ Wolf (OSU) vs. Parker Wynn (LOU-MT) 4-6, 4-5, unfinished
3. #9 Hugo Di Feo (OSU) def. Nicolas Rouanet (LOU-MT) 6-3, 6-2
4. Martin Joyce (OSU) def. George Hedley (LOU-MT) 7-5, 6-2
5. Herkko Pollanen (OSU) def. Brandon Lancaster (LOU-MT) 6-0, 6-2
6. Kyle Seelig (OSU) vs. Clement Filho (LOU-MT) 7-6 (8-6), 2-1, unfinished

1. #16 Mikael Torpegaard/Herkko Pollanen (OSU) vs. #23 Sean Donohue/Parker Wynn (LOU-MT) 4-2, unfinished
2. #30 Hugo Di Feo/Martin Joyce (OSU) def. Nicolas Rouanet/Ciro Lampasas (LOU-MT) 6-2
3. JJ Wolf/Hunter Tubert (OSU) def. C. Morin-Kougoucheff/George Hedley (LOU-MT) 6-2

Match Notes:
Order of finish: Doubles (2,3); Singles (5,3,4)
Official: Jeri Banks  T-1:58  A-301