Eleven Swimmers Set for NCAAs

Go Buckeyes! Tamas Gercsak
Go Buckeyes!
Tamas Gercsak
Go Buckeyes!

March 14, 2013

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State men’s swimming team will send one of its largest contingents in program history to the NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships March 28-30 at the IU Natatorium in Indianapolis, Ind.

Eleven swimmers will be looking to keep the Buckeyes in the national spotlight with another high finish. The team, which was ranked 13th in the final CSCAA Division I Team Rankings, finished 12th at the 2012 NCAA championships. The team also is coming off a third-place finish at the Big Ten championships – its fifth-consecutive year the team has finished in the Top 3.

“This is the fastest meet in the world of swimming outside the Olympics and this event happens every year,” head swimming coach Bill Wadley said. “Everyone in the world wants to compete at a meet like this and having 11 NCAA qualifiers is quite an achievement for young people. We are looking forward to competing at a high level against the best talent in the country. We have high aspirations to finish as a Top 10 team and continue to break OSU records.”

Ohio State has advanced to the NCAA championships in 21 of the 24 years guided by coach Wadley. The team has now sent at least 10 swimmers to NCAAs in five out of the last six seasons. The Buckeyes notched 55 NCAA “B” times during the 2012-13 campaign, while three out of the five relays are ranked in the Top 10 in the national rankings.

Only three seniors are among the 11 student-athletes who will perform at the NCAA championships. The team also consists of three juniors and five sophomores. Six Buckeyes have previous NCAA championship experience: Zach Holmes, Zach Birnbrich, Alex Miller, Tim Phillips, Jason Schnur and Keanu Stevenson. Ohio State’s swimming group will consist of (and their qualifying events):

  • Zach Birnbrich (Anthem, Ariz.) – 200 freestyle relay/400 freestyle relay
  • Michael DiSalle (Toledo, Ohio) – 800 freestyle relay
  • Tamas Gercsak (Budapest, Hungary) – 200 IM/400 IM/200 butterfly
  • Zach Holmes (Houston, Texas) – 200 freestyle/200 freestyle relay/400 freestyle relay/800 freestyle relay
  • Connor McDonald (Lake Oswego, Oregon) – 200 backstroke/400 medley relay
  • Alex Miller (Cincinnati, Ohio) – 500 freestyle/800 freestyle relay
  • Tim Phillips (Vienna, W.Va.) – 100 butterfly/200 freestyle relay/200 medley relay/400 freestyle relay/400 medley relay
  • Jason Schnur (Cincinnati, Ohio) – 50 freestyle/200 freestyle relay/200 medley relay/400 freestyle relay/400 medley relay
  • Keanu Stevenson (Newburgh, Ind.). – 200 medley relay/400 medley relay
  • Garrett Trebilcock (Canfield, Ohio) – 200 medley relay
  • Steven Zimmerman (Morrow, Ohio) – 200 backstroke



Phillips set the school record in the 100 butterfly with a time of 45.85. The other school individual record was set by Gercsak (400 IM; 3:45.17), while the quartet of Trebilcock, Stevenson, Phillips and Schnur posted an OSU record 1:24.79 in the 200 medley relay at the Big Ten Championships.

Diving selections for the NCAA championships is to be determined with NCAA Diving Zones in action starting today through Saturday. Check back at OhioStateBuckeyes.com for NCAA updates on the OSU divers.