Buckeyes Second At Big Tens

Feb. 25, 2012

Iowa City, Iowa -

Complete final results Get Acrobat Reader

Saturday results Get Acrobat Reader

Behind championship swims from Jason Schnur and Andrew Elliott, Ohio State finished second with 552.5 team points at the Big Ten men's swimming and diving championships at Iowa. Michigan was first with 738.5 points. Indiana was third (549), followed by Minnesota (403), Iowa (395), Penn State (332), Purdue (316), Wisconsin (225), Northwestern (157) and Michigan State (113).

Jason Schnur captured the 100 freestyle title with a time of 43.11, after breaking the Ohio State school record with a 42.85 swim in the preliminaries Saturday morning. Schnur claimed his second individual title of the meet, winning the 50 free on Thursday.

Earning points in the consolation final of the 100 free were Zach Holmes in 12th place (44.08) and Lincoln Fahrbach in 13th (44.20).

Andrew Elliott repeated as Big Ten champion in the 200 backstroke, winning in a time of 1:41.71; Elliott broke his own Ohio State school record with a time of 1:41.22 in the preliminaries.

Markus Sievers placed fourth in the 200 back (1:43.67) and Steven Zimmerman was eighth (1:44.78). Connor McDonald (1:43.83) was 17th and Kevin Lancki (1:46.22) 19th in that race.

Luke Stirton was fifth in the 200 butterfly in a time of 1:44.96, after setting an Ohio State school record of 1:44.59 in the preliminaries. Tamas Gercsak was sixth (1:45.28), Ryan Bubb 14th (1:47.54) and Garrett Trebilcock 19th 1:48.05) in the 200 fly.

Brent Hitchcock was the Buckeyes' top scorer in the timed finals of the 1650 freestyle, placing fifth in a time of 15:02.91. Alex Miller was 13th (15:13.75) and Rowan Williams was 14th (15:14.01) in the 1650 free.

Chris Cowley was Ohio State's only point-scorer in the 200 breaststroke, placing 16th in a time of 2:01.44. Keanu Stevenson (2:00.69) was 19th and Jared Kauffman (2:02.05) 21st swimming in the C final of that race.

Shane Miszkiel, Ohio State's only competitor in the 10-meter platform diving event, placed third with a score of 408.90.

Ohio State placed fourth in the 400 free relay, as Jason Schnur, Zach Holmes, Stephen Sakaris and Lincoln Fahrbach completed that race in a school record time of 2:53.81.

Big Ten Men's Swimming & Diving Saturday, Feb. 25, 2012 Iowa City, Iowa Campus Recreation and Wellness Center

Event Winners:

1650 free: 1) Connor Jaeger, Michigan (14:43.64); 5) Brent Hitchcock, Ohio State (15:02.91)

200 back: 1) Andrew Elliott, Ohio State (1:41.71)

100 free: 1) Jason Schnur, Ohio State (43.11)

200 breast: 1) Cody Miller, Indiana (1:54.07); 16) Chris Cowley, Ohio State (2:01.44)

200 fly: 1) Dan Madwed, Michigan (1:42.67); 5) Luke Stirton, Ohio State (1:44.96)

Platform diving: 1) Kristoffer Jorgensen, Minnesota (430.65); 3) Shane Miszkiel, Ohio State (408.90)

400 free relay: 1) Iowa (2:52.53); 4) Ohio State: Jason Schnur, Zach Holmes, Stephen Sakaris, Lincoln Fahrbach (2:53.81, school record)