Buckeyes Battle Wolverines
Shane Miszkiel

Jan. 27, 2012

Friday results Get Acrobat Reader

Columbus, Ohio - Behind a two-event sweep by the Buckeye men's divers, Ohio State is trailing Michigan 100-86 after the first day of a tri-meet with Michigan and Penn State at McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion. The Buckeyes lead the Nittany Lions by a 137-49 score, while Michigan is ahead of Penn State 147-39.

Ohio State swept the three-meter diving competition, behind the performances of Christian Holstein (429.68), Shane Miszkiel (411.60) and Stephen Ettienne (358.20).

The Buckeyes also went one-two-three in the one-meter diving contest. Miszkiel was the winner with a score of 402.38, with Holstein second (368.03) and Ettienne third (332.40).

"Sweeping both diving events was great, said Ohio State diving coach Vince Panzano. "The kids did great tonight. We scored a lot of points for our team and we are happy about that.

"Those two (Shane and Christian) have done well this year. Being freshmen last year, they went through some growing pains and some bumps in the road. Now they are starting to really figure it out. Now we will go back and keep working towards Big Tens and NCAAs."

Ohio State's relay of Jason Schnur, Lincoln Fahrbach, Zach Holmes and Zach Birnbrich captured the 400 freestyle relay, the final event of the evening, in a time of 2:58.45, and NCAA B-qualifying time.

In the 50 freestyle, Miguel Ortiz of Michigan was the winner in a time of 20.21. Ohio State's Jason Schnur was second, swimming that race in 20.30. Michigan's Michael Wynalda won the 200 free (1:37.47) and his teammate Dan Madwed was second (1:37.63). Zach Holmes (1:39.14) was the fastest finisher for the Buckeyes in fourth place, and Lincoln Fahrbach (1:40.06) was sixth.

In the 1000 freestyle race, Michigan's Connor Jaeger (9:03.44), Ohio State's Brent Hitchcock (9:12.09) and Ryan Feeley of Michigan (9:13.64) each broke the existing pool record of 9:14.72 for that event. The Buckeyes' Alex Miller (9:15.70) placed fifth.

Miguel Ortiz of the Wolverines was also the winner of the 100 backstroke in a time of 47.72. Ohio State's Andrew Elliott was second (48.84), Kevin Lancki was fourth (48.92) and Steven Zimmerman was sixth (49.66).

In the 200 breast, Richard Funk of Michigan was the winner in a time of 2:02.15. Chris Cowley was Ohio State's top finisher, placing fourth with a time of 2:03.97.

Dan Medwed of Michigan won the 200 butterfly in a time of 1:45.99, just ahead of Buckeye freshman Tamas Gercsak, who was second in 1:47.21. Ohio State's Luke Stirton (1:48.45) and Ryan Bubb (1:49.24) were fifth and sixth in that race.

Michigan captured the 400 medley relay in a B-cut time of 3:13.20. The Ohio State quartet of Andrew Elliott, Keanu Stevenson, Lincoln Fahrbach and Jason Schnur finished second in a time of 3:15.20, also an NCAA B-qualifying time.

The tri-meet competition continues Saturday at noon at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion. Ohio State's seniors will be honored before the meet.

Men's Swimming & Diving Friday, January 27, 2012 McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion Columbus, Ohio

Event Winners: 1-meter diving: 1) Shane Miszkiel, Ohio State (402.38)

3-meter diving: 1) Christian Holstein, Ohio State (429.68)

400 medley relay: 1) Michigan: M. Ortiz, B. Ortiz, Wojciechowski, Madwed (3:13.20); 2) Ohio State: Andrew Elliott, Keanu Stevenson, Lincoln Fahrbach, Jason Schnur (3:15.20)

1000 free: 1) Connor Jaeger, Michigan (9:03.44); 2) Brent Hitchcock, Ohio State (9:12.09)

200 free: 1) Michael Wynalda, Michigan (1:37.47); 4) Zach Holmes, Ohio State (1:39.14)

50 free: 1) Miguel Ortiz, Michigan (20.21); 2) Jason Schnur, Ohio State (20.30)

100 back: 1) Miguel Ortiz, Michigan (47.72); 2) Andrew Elliott, Ohio State (48.84)

200 breast: 1) Richard Funk, Michigan (2:02.15); 4) Chris Cowley, Ohio State (2:03.97)

200 fly: 1) Dan Medwed, Michigan (1:45.99); 2) Tamas Gercsak, Ohio State (1:47.21)

400 free relay: 1) Ohio State: Jason Schnur, Lincoln Fahrbach, Zach Holmes, Zach Birnbrich (2:58.45)