Miszkiel Claims Big Ten Title, Buckeyes Break School Records

Go Buckeyes! Shane Miszkiel
Go Buckeyes!
Shane Miszkiel
Go Buckeyes!

March 1, 2013

PDF: Friday Final Results Get Acrobat Reader

COLUMBUS, Ohio - The Ohio State men's swimming and diving team had another record-setting night to remain in third place  after day three at the 2013 Big Ten Championships Friday night in Bloomington, Ind. Junior diver Shane Miszkiel highlighted the evening for the Buckeyes after claiming the Big Ten title on the three-meter springboard with a total score of 467.10 points.

Miszkiel, who won the Big Ten title on the one-meter springboard in 2012, becomes the first OSU male diver to win the three-meter event since former Buckeye Kellen Harkness won the title during the 2007 campaign.

Michigan leads the championships with 601 points followed by Indiana (464), Ohio State (335), Minnesota (247) and Purdue (216) to round out the Top 5.

"We had a night of fast swimming with two records broken as well as a title won in the diving competition," head swimming coach Bill Wadley said. "Our relays have finished in the Top 2 in three out of the four relay events and we also had season-best times across the board in each individual event this evening. The guys have a lot to be proud of and we have another full day of swimming and diving tomorrow to help us qualify for NCAAs."

Redshirt junior Tim Phillips, placed second overall in the 100 butterfly with a school-record time of 45.85. His time was an NCAA "A" mark. Garrett Trebilcock posted an NCAA "B" time for 47.22 for eighth overall, while Luke Stirton (47.72; NCAA "B" mark), Jason Schnur (48.17; NCAA "B" mark) and Zach Birnbrich (48.90) placed ninth, 12th and 16th respectively.

In the 400 individual medley, Tamas Gerszak placed sixth in the finals, touching the wall with a school-record time of 3:45.17. His finish was recorded as an NCAA "B" standard. Steven Zimmerman also scored points for the Scarlet and Gray, finishing 12th overall with an NCAA "B" time of 3:50.52.

The Buckeyes began the evening with a runner-up finish in the 200 freestyle relay as the quartet of Schnur, Zach Holmes, Birnbrich and Phillips notched an NCAA "A" time of 1:17.95 - just two tenths of a second off the school-record mark.


Holmes posted a season-best time of 1:35.35 in the 200 freestyle for fifth overall, while Alex Miller followed in seventh with a 2013-best of 1:36.36. Michael DiSalle (1:36.5) placed 12th overall, while Rowan Williams (1:36.56) was 14th in the finals. All four times were NCAA "B" standards.

In the 100 breaststroke, DJ MacDonald notched a time of 54.26, while Keanu Stevenson followed in 16th place with a time of 54.60. Both times were placed as NCAA "B" times.

In the 100 backstroke, Connor McDonald placed 12th overall in 48.13, while Garrett Trebilcock finished 15th with a time of 48.13. Both times were NCAA "B" marks.

2013 Big Ten Men's Swimming and Diving Championships
Friday, March 1, 2013
Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center
Bloomington, Ind.

Team Scores: 1. Michigan (601), 2. Indiana (464), 3.Ohio State (335), 4. Minnesota (247),  5. Purdue (216) 6. Iowa (190) 7. Wisconsin (187), 8. Penn State (150), 9. Northwestern (100), 10. Michigan State (86).

Ohio State Top Finishes:  200 freestyle relay -  2. Schnur, Holmes, Birnbrich and Phllips (1:17.95); 400 Individual Medley - 6. Gerszak (3:54.17); 100 butterfly  - 2. Phillips (45.85); 200 freestyle - 5. Holmes (1:35.35); 100 breaststroke - 15. Macdonald (54.26); 100 backstroke - McDonald (45.57); 3-meter springboard - 1. Miszkiel (467.10).


### OhioStateBuckeyes.com ###