Four Buckeyes Receive Big Ten Honors

Nov. 14, 2013


COLUMBUS, Ohio - Four Ohio State men’s soccer players received postseason honors from the Big Ten, announced by the conference Thursday night at annual tournament banquet at the Huntington Club at Ohio Stadium. Sage Gardner and Alex Ivanov each were named to the Second Team All-Big Ten squad, while Danny Jensen and Tyler Kidwell are on the All-Freshman Team.

Gardner, the captain for the Buckeyes, also was named the team’s Sportsmanship Award recipient. A native of Columbus, Ohio, Gardner wrapped up his career as a two-time All-Big Ten honoree after starting his career in 2010 on the All-Freshman Team. Starting in all 76 career games the last four seasons, Gardner posted a goal and an assist this season, while helping the Buckeyes to nine shutouts in 2013, which is tied for second-most in the Big Ten.  Gardner is a three-time OSU Scholar-Athlete and a two-time Academic All-Big Ten.

Ivanov, a three-time Defensive Player of the Week, earns his first career All-Big Ten honor. The OSU goalkeeper finished the season with 110 saves, which is fifth on the OSU all-time single season saves list. Ivanov came into the Big Ten Tournament second in the country in stops, fourth in saves percentage (0.866) and sixth in saves per game (6.31). Ivanov is a 2013 first team Capital One Academic All-District honoree and a 2012 Big Ten Distinguished Scholar.

Jensen, a native of Weston, Fla., earns his first career All-Big Ten honor as a unanimous selection. He led the team with nine points on three goals and three assists, scoring the gamewinning goal in overtime to upset the Big Ten regular season champion Nittany Lions Nov. 2 in Columbus. Jensen has played in all 18 games for the Buckeyes, starting in 12 matches.

Kidwell, a native of Dublin, Ohio, played in 17 games for the Scarlet and Gray, starting in 15 matches. He helped the Buckeye defense notch nine shutouts on the year, which tied for second in the Big Ten. Kidwell collected his first career point on an assist in a 1-0 victory over SMU Sept. 13.

See below for the complete list of the Big Ten men’s soccer award winners. The Ohio State University will host the semifinals of the Big Ten Tournament beginning at Noon ET Friday at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium. Both matches will be aired live on BTN.