Five Buckeyes Receive Big Ten Honors
Chris Hegngi

Nov. 8, 2012

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Five Ohio State men’s soccer players received postseason honors from the Big Ten, announced by the conference Thursday night at annual tournament banquet in Evanston, Ill. Chris Hegngi and Austin McAnena each were named to the Second Team All-Big Ten squad, while Louie Berra and Zach Mason are on the All-Freshman Team and Joshua Breto is the team’s Sportsmanship Award recipient.

Both seniors, Hegngi and McAnena wrap up their careers as two-time All-Big Ten honorees after being recognized last season and starting their careers in 2009 on the All-Freshman Team.

Hegngi is second on the team in scoring with three goals and three assists this season despite drawing some of the opposition’s toughest defenders. He played in all 79 career games, making 77 starts, and has 18 goals and 11 assists to his credit. The 2011 Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year and first-team selection produced career goals and points totals which are in the Top 10 all-time at Ohio State, while his shots are second in program history.

McAnena started all but one of 79 matches played with 16 goals and 11 assists to his credit. From the midfield, he led the team in goals scored in two of four seasons, including this 2012 campaign, and averaged nearly 11 points each year. McAnena finished this season with 11 points, which led the team, off four goals and three assists. A native of Laguna Niguel, Calif., he was a Second Team All-Big Ten performer last season field and is a three-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree.

Berra and Mason have wasted little time getting acclimated to Ohio State soccer. Berra, a forward, is tied for third on the team in scoring with three goals and an assist in 16 games this season, while Mason is one of just four players to start in every match. In those 19 games, the Galena, Ohio, product has registered a pair of assists as a defensive midfielder.



A fifth-year senior, Breto saw action in 75 total games with 17 starts and 15 points off five goals – including three game-winners – and five assists. After missing the 2011 season with an injury, he battled back to take the field in 2012 and has played in 15 games with one goal, coming at San Diego State.

In the Big Ten quarterfinal against Northwestern Wednesday, the Buckeyes dropped a 2-0 decision to end their 2012 season.

Offensive Player of the Year:
Defensive Player of the Year:
Chris Ritter, Northwestern
Freshman of the Year:
JOEY CALISTRI, Northwestern
Coach of the Year:
Bob Warming, Penn State

First Team                                      

ERIQ ZAVALETA, Indiana               
Adam Montague, Michigan State
Joey Calistri, Northwestern         

First Team                                      

A.J. Corrado, Indiana                     
Tyler Arnone, Michigan               
CHRIS RITTER, Northwestern       
Jacob Barron, Penn State

Nikko Boxall, Northwestern         
John Gallagher, Penn State          
AJ Cochran, Wisconsin                  

Tyler Miller, Northwestern        

Second Team*
Nikita Kotlov, Indiana
Chris Hegngi, Ohio State

Julian Cardona, Penn State
Hasani Sinclair, Penn State

Second Team*
Jacob Bushue, Indiana
Austin McAnena, Ohio State

Owen Griffith, Penn State

Caleb Konstanski, Indiana
Kevin Cope, Michigan State
Jarrett Baughman, Northwestern

Adam Grinwis, Michigan
Andrew Wolverton, Penn State


Femi Hollinger-Janzen, Indiana
JOEY CALISTRI, Northwestern
Louie Berra, Ohio State

Richard Ballard, Indiana
JAY CHAPMAN, Michigan State
Cole Missimo, Northwestern
Drew Klingenberg, Penn State

Zach Mason, Ohio State

DREW CONNOR, Wisconsin
ADAM LAUKO, Wisconsin

Zach Bennett, Michigan State

Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS
*Additional Selection due to ties


Sportsmanship Award Honorees:
Harrison Petts, Jr., Indiana
Noble Sullivan, Jr., Michigan
Nick Wilson, Sr., Michigan State
Jarrett Baughman, Sr., Northwestern
Joshua Breto, Sr., Ohio State

Daniel Burnham, Sr., Penn State
Kyle McCrudden, Sr., Wisconsin