Buckeyes Look Back on 2011 Season at Team Banquet
David Tiemstra

Feb. 3, 2012

COLUMBUS, Ohio - The Ohio State men's soccer team celebrated the 2011 season with a dinner and awards presentation in the Varsity O Room of the Huntington Club in Ohio Stadium. Senior David Tiemstra and juniors Matt Lampson and Chris Hegngi highlighted the night as the trio was awarded the team's Most Valuable Player award. This award is voted upon by the team and coaches.

Matt Lampson, recently drafted by the Columbus Crew transferred to Ohio State in his sophomore season after redshirting at Northern Illinois in 2008. Lampson appeared in 56 matches for the Buckeyes, posting a 0.86 goals-against average and 24 shutouts, which ranks second on the school's all-time list.  Lampson earned a long list of accolades while at Ohio State including All-Big Ten First Team (2010), All-Big Ten Second Team (2009, 2011) and All-Great Lakes Region First Team (2010, 20011).

Also on the defensive end, senior captain David Tiemstra was selected in the MLS Supplemental Draft by the San Jose Earthquakes. Tiemstra was the leader of the defense all four seasons, the last of which it allowed 20 goals in 18 regular-season matches, including just seven in the team's six Big Ten contests. As a First Team All-Big Ten selection and two-time Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, Tiemstra started in all but one of his 78 career games at center back while adding six goals and an assist in his career.

On the other side of the field junior Chris Hegngi, who was named the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, appeared in 19 games this past season. He racked up 18 points with nine goals. He led the team in penalty kicks scoring on all three attempts in the 2011 season. He finished the regular season atop the conference in points (10) and goals (five). Hegngi also earned a spot on the All-Big Ten First Team.



The Coaches Award was awarded to junior Austin McAnena, who earned a spot on the All-Big Ten Second Team score three games and had two assists for a combined eight points in 19 games this season.  McAnena has appeared in all 59 games thus far in his career. He totals twelve goals and 8 assists in his career.

Brady Wahl earned the most valuable Freshman Award. Wahl finished his rookie season earning a spot on the All-Big Ten Freshman team. Wahl appeared in all 19 games starting in 18 of those for the Buckeyes tallying one goal and one assist on the season. Wahl's first career goal came against Bowling Green in overtime to claim the win for the Scarlet and Gray.

The Linda Daniel Most Inspirational Award, as well as the team's Academic Award, went to senior Jon Moore. Moore saw action in four games for the Buckeyes after transferring to Ohio State from Owens Community College where he played his freshman and sophomore seasons.

Junior Sebastian Rivas and redshirt-freshman Alec Lowell shared the honor of the Most Improved Player. Rivas who played in just eight games in the 2010 season played in 18 of the 19 games this season, starting in three.  Rivas had four goals, the second most on the team, and one assist to total 9 points. Lowell saw action in 13 games for the Buckeyes and tallied 11 shots during the season.

Most Improved Players: Sebastian Rivas and Alec Lowell
Linda Daniel Most Inspirational Award: Jon Moore
Academic Award: Jon Moore 
Most Valuable Freshman: Brady Wahl
Coaches Award: Austin McAnena
Team MVPs: Matt Lampson, Chris Hegngi and David Tiemstra