Matchup Between Classic and 2014 Buckeyes Set for Friday Under the Lights
Ricky Pages was a member of the Buckeyes' 2008 NCAA tournament team and currently plays in the MLL.

• Classic Roster Photo Gallery
• WATCH: Trombley and Sharick preview matchup
• Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State men’s lacrosse team will close its fallball slate with a game against a team of young alumni, including many who have gone on to professional lacrosse. The Classic Buckeyes vs. 2014 squad matchup will be played under the lights at the Harmon Family Football Park at Woody Hayes Athletic Center at 7 p.m. Friday. Admission is free.

In all, 25 former Buckeyes, along with four alumni coaching the squad, are planning to take on the 2013-14 edition of the team. The alumni team includes five players who were selected in the Major League Lacrosse draft and six who were picked during the National Lacrosse League draft, including first-round picks Logan Schuss and Brock Sorensen. Eleven of the alumni team members have MLL experience.

The team includes nine players who were on the 2008 squad that captured the Great Western Lacrosse League title and was the first Buckeye team to reach the NCAA quarterfinals. Six competed on the 2013 ECAC Lacrosse League tournament championship squad that hosted the first NCAA game in program history and advanced to the NCAA round of eight. Six played on the Buckeyes’ 2004 team that won the league regular-season title and earned a spot in the NCAA tourney and four were part of the 2003 squad that earned Ohio State’s first NCAA berth after winning the league crown. Classics coach Greg Zytkowski, along with midfielder Todd Miller, were part of the 1999 team that won the GWLL title.

The Classics team has combined for seven All-America honors, three league player of the year honors, two conference rookies of the year and 19 all-conference selections. The group was successful in the classroom as well, totaling 38 Academic All-Big Ten selections and 50 Ohio State Scholar-Athlete nods.

Major League Lacrosse all-stars Kevin Buchanan and Anthony Kelly will not be able to compete with the Classic Buckeyes, as they are in the midst of the selection process for Team USA for the 2014 World Championship squad.

The game vs. the Classic Buckeyes coincides with Ohio State’s Homecoming weekend. The men’s lacrosse class of 2003 is celebrating the 10th anniversary of Ohio State’s first trip to the NCAA tournament, while the members of the 2008 team mark the five year anniversary of the program’s inaugural trip to the NCAA quarterfinals.

Classic Buckeyes (Class year)
Coaching Staff

Greg Zytkowski (’99)
Dave Otis (’97)
Matt Lee (’96)
Mike O'Driscoll (’98)

Tyler Dolphin (‘11)
Kyle Olson (’05)
Pat Riffee (‘13)
Jeff Ryan (‘09)
Logan Schuss (‘13)
Mario Ventiquattro (‘10)

Dominique Alexander (’13)
Paul Beery (‘11)
Chris Brown ('05)
Zach Boyt (’11)
Mark Crawford (‘13)
Josh Funk (’08)
Nick Liddil (’13)
Kevin Mack (’13)
Pat Myers (’03)
Eric O'Brien (’07)
Brian Lalley (’09)
Scott Lathrop (’11)
Todd Miller (’99)
Brock Sorensen ('12)

Greg Bice (’04)
Matt Cafarelli (’04)
Ryan Callahan (’98)
Ricky Pages (’08)
Jeff Schneider ('07)

Stefan Schroder ('08)