ECAC All-Academic Team includes Eight Buckeyes
Eddie Bambino wraps his career as a three-time ECAC All-Academic Team selection.

June 22, 2012

COLUMBUS, Ohio - A league-high tying eight members of the Ohio State men's lacrosse team have been honored as 2012 Academic All-ECAC Lacrosse League selections, the ECAC announced Friday. To be eligible for the honor, a student-athlete must be in at least his second year at his current school, have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.2, participate in at least 50 percent of his team's games and be a significant contributor to the squad.

Senior Spanish major Eddie Bambino ends his career as a three-time ECAC All-Academic honoree, as well as a three-time Academic All-Big Ten choice and four-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete.

Six juniors are on the list, with Dominique Alexander, Kevin Mack, Logan Schuss, Patrick Toohey and Trey Wilkes honored for the second time and Dan Wertz a first-time selection. Alexander, Mack and Schuss, the 2012 ECAC Offensive Player of the Year and a third team All-American, are all physical education majors and three-time Ohio State Scholar-Athletes. Toohey is studying English, while Wilkes is majoring in communication and Wertz is working toward a degree in sport and leisure studies. Toohey and Wertz are three-time Ohio State Scholar-Athletes and Wilkes is a two-time honoree. All six were named to the Academic All-Big Ten team this year.

Sophomore Tyler Frederick completes the list. A business: finance major, Frederick is a two-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete and an Academic All-Big Ten choice.

For the year, the Buckeyes had 18 Academic All-Big Ten selections and 27 Ohio State Scholar-Athletes.



In all, 43 league student-athletes were named to the ECAC academic all-conference team, with Ohio State and Michigan tying for the lead with eight honorees each.