Buckeyes Garner Academic Honors
Mike Smail is a three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection.

June 1, 2012

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Eighteen members of the Ohio State men's lacrosse squad have been named to the Academic All-Big Ten team for spring and at-large sports, the Big Ten Conference announced this week. To be eligible for conference academic honors, student-athletes must be a letterwinner in at least their second year on campus with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or greater. Ohio State had a league-high 187 student-athletes named to the spring and at-large teams, part of 312 Buckeyes recognized during 2011-12.

Five seniors - Spanish major Eddie Bambino, business: marketing majors Joe Bonanni and Mike Smail, Matt Kawamoto, a business: logistics management major, and communication major Brock Sorensen all were honored by the Big Ten, with Bambino, Bonanni and Smail each named to the list for the third time and Kawamoto a two-time honoree. Bonanni and Kawamoto were both named Scholar All-Americans by the USILA earlier this week, the first Buckeyes selected in program history.

Nine juniors are 2012 Academic All-Big Ten selections. Physical education majors Dominique Alexander, Kevin Mack, Patrick Riffee and Logan Schuss all were honored for the second time. Mark Crawford (special education), communication majors Nick Liddil and Trey Wilkes and English major Patrick Toohey are all two-time honorees and Dan Wertz, a sport and leisure studies major, earned the award for the first time.



Four sophomores captured Academic All-Big Ten accolades in their first year of eligibility: Joe Meurer (pre-business), Tyler Frederick (business: finance), John Hardesty (human development and family science) and Jake Sharick (communication).

The 18 Buckeyes on the Academic All-Big Ten team were joined by nine teammates as Ohio State Scholar-Athletes. Bambino, Bonanni and Smail all ended their Ohio State careers as four-time Ohio State Scholar-Athletes, with Kawamoto a two-time honoree. Alexander, Liddil, Mack, Riffee, Schuss and Toohey have been invited to the scholar-athlete dinner each of their first three years with the Scarlet and Gray. Crawford, Frederick, Hardesty, Meurer, Sharick, Wertz and Wilkes are all two-time selections.

Freshmen Ryan Borcherding (business administration), Reegan Comeault (economics), Kevin Duffy (biological sciences), Turner Evans (psychology), Jesse King (psychology), Rick Lewis (exploration) and Evan Mulchrone (business administration) all picked up Ohio State Scholar-Athlete accolades, as did sophomore transfers Nick Diegel (physical education) and Scott Spencer (molecular genetics). In addition, Sorensen was an Ohio State Scholar-Athlete for the first time.