Men's Lacrosse

Kaplan Named ECAC Specialist of the Week

Shawn Kaplan won eight faceoffs vs. Fairfield.
Shawn Kaplan won eight faceoffs vs. Fairfield.

April 30, 2012

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Shawn Kaplan, a sophomore on the No. 17/18 Ohio State men's lacrosse team, has been named the ECAC Lacrosse League Specialist of the Week, the conference announced Monday.

Kaplan, from Lafayette Hill, Pa., and Plymouth Whitemarsh High School, was the catalyst for Ohio State during an 8-3 road win at Fairfield Saturday that clinched the No. 2 seed in the ECAC Tournament. He won 8-of-11 faceoffs vs. the Stags, including going 4-for-4 in the second half, to give the Buckeyes crucial possessions and the opportunity to extend their lead to 8-2. Kaplan, who finished the game with a season-best 72.7 faceoff winning percentage, also picked up a team-high five groundballs in the win.

Kaplan leads the Buckeyes with 70 faceoff wins and 142 faceoffs taken this year and is second with 36 groundballs. Ohio State earned five league player of the week honors this season. He joins Keenan Ochwat (co-defensive, April 23), Logan Schuss (offensive, Feb. 20), Turner Evans (rookie, March 19) and Dominique Alexander (co-offensive, April 9). Kaplan was a two-time ECAC Rookie of the Week last season.

This week, Kaplan and the Buckeyes head to Denver for the 2012 ECAC Tournament. Ohio State (8-6, 5-1 ECAC), the No. 2 seed, will face No. 3 seed Fairfield at 8 p.m. MT/10 p.m. ET Wednesday, with No. 1 seed Loyola taking on host and No. 4 seed Denver at 5 p.m. MT/7 p.m. ET. Both semifinals games will be streamed for free through Pioneer Vision on denverpioneers.com. The championship game is set for 4 p.m. MT/6 p.m. ET Friday and will be televised live by ESPNU. A tournament central website is available with links to video, live stats and in-game blogs here: http://go.osu.edu/ecactourneycentral12.


 

 

Shop for OSU Gear
buckeye vision suscribe log in Buckeye Vision
divider line