Ohio State Continues to Excel Academically
The Buckeyes combined for a 3.19 gpa in winter quarter.

March 29, 2012

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State men’s lacrosse program has continued to produce excellent results in the classroom, as the squad has combined for a 3.10 overall grade point average after posting a 3.19 GPA during winter quarter.

The team will have 27 student-athletes – more than half of its 44-man roster – recognized at the Ohio State Scholar-Athlete Dinner in May.

“We are truly proud of this group and what we have accomplished academically,” Brock Sorensen, a scholar-athlete in his second year as a captain for the Buckeyes, said. “We fell just short of our team goal of 30 scholar-athletes, but a team cumulative GPA reaching 3.1 is something special.”

The dedication everyone associated with the men’s lacrosse program shows to academics does not go unnoticed by the team’s academic counselor.

“It’s been another impressive year for the men,” Ben Carignan, senior athletic academic counselor in the Student-Athlete Support Services Office, said. “Coach Myers and his staff continue to encourage the men to be the best in the classroom. Everyone, from the senior to the freshmen, has contributed to the team’s success. The freshmen committed themselves to finding structure and the upperclassmen continue to deepen the academic tradition of the program.

“It’s an absolute pleasure working with a coaching staff and team of student-athletes that aspires to improve each quarter,” Carignan added. “The men have shown, once again, they are committed to academics. It is great being a part of a program that is so committed and focused.”

The 27 Ohio State Scholar-Athletes include five seniors, nine juniors, six sophomores and seven freshmen. The list includes:

2011-12 Men’s Lacrosse Ohio State Scholar-Athletes
Dominique Alexander
Eddie Bambino
Joe Bonanni
Ryan Borcherding
Reegan Comeault
Mark Crawford
Nicolas Diegel
Kevin Duffy
Turner Evans
Tyler Frederick
John Hardesty
Matt Kawamoto
Jesse King
Rick Lewis
Nick Liddil
Kevin Mack
Joe Meurer
Evan Mulchrone
Patrick Riffee
Logan Schuss
Jake Sharick
Mike Smail
Brock Sorensen
Scott Spencer
Patrick Toohey
Daniel Wertz
Trey Wilkes