Hjelle Voted Team MVP to Lead Buckeye Award Winners
Brady Hjelle

May 28, 2013

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Senior goalie Brady Hjelle was voted Most Valuable Player for the 2012-13 Ohio State men's hockey team by his teammates, leading the squad's annual award winners.

First Team All-American Hjelle, a senior from International Falls, Minn., marks the third consecutive year - and 16th time in program history - a goalie was selected the Buckeyes' Most Valuable Player. The first Buckeye to earn first team All-America honors since 1998 and just the third first-team selection in program history, Hjelle was the 2012-13 First Team All-CCHA goaltender and the 2012-13 CCHA Goaltender of the Year award winner. He played in 34 games, starting 33, and had a 2.00 goals-against average (the second-best mark in Ohio state history) and a program-record .935 save percentage to rank sixth in the NCAA. He was named a first or second star of the game in 14 of 24 league starts and won the CCHA's Perani Cup title. An Ohio State Scholar-Athlete and Academic All-Big Ten choice, Hjelle earned his Ohio state degree in business-economics at spring commencement ceremonies. Hjelle ended his career first in Ohio State history with a .933 save percentage and ranks second in career goals-against average (2.08).

Junior Curtis Gedig, from West Kelowna, British Columbia, was voted the Best Defensive Player. A leader on the Buckeye defense that ranked 13th nationally in goals allowed per game (2.40), he was +6 on the year, and had three goals, 12 assists and 15 points. He had 54 blocked shots and only three minor penalties while playing in 32 games, missing time late in the year with an injury.

Defenseman Craig Dalrymple, an honorable mention CCHA All-Rookie Team choice, was elected the Buckeyes' Rookie of the Year. The only freshman and one of only two blueliners to play in all 40 games, he had 14 assists and 17 points to lead the Ohio State defensemen. The native of Kippen, Ontario, and an Ohio State Scholar-Athlete was +6 overall and +9 in CCHA play to rank second among the league's freshmen.



The Unsung Player award was given to junior Alex Szczechura. The forward was third on the team with 12 goals and fourth with 23 points, all career highs, and he was first on the squad with a +8 mark. Szczechura had a hat trick and four-point game vs. Western Michigan Feb. 16, marking career highs. He is now a two-time Academic All-Big Ten choice and three-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete.

Forward Riley Simpson was selected the Most Improved Player. A redshirt freshman who was limited to just two games in his first year on campus in 2011-12, Simpson skated in 35 games and had three goals, two assists and five points in 2012-13.

Hilliard, Ohio, native Jeff Michael received the Scholar-Athlete award. A business - accounting major who holds the highest cumulative team GPA, Michael is a four-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete and will be a three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection. He is currently studying abroad in Brazil; follow his travels online: go.osu.edu/jmbrazil.

After sharing the team's Leading Scorer award as a freshman, Wheaton, Ill., native Ryan Dzingel led the team outright as a sophomore in 2012-13. The honorable mention All-CCHA choice had a career-high 16 goals, (including five power-play tallies), 22 assists and 38 points while playing in all 40 games, tying for third in the CCHA in points overall. The Ohio State Scholar-Athlete and Academic All-Big ten choice was third in the league with 28 points in conference action, including a league-best 15 power play points.