Echard Shares Big Ten Title on Pommel Horse
Misha Koudinov

April 8, 2012

PDF: Final Results Get Acrobat Reader

IOWA CITY, Iowa -Ty Echard, a senior captain on the Ohio State men's gymnastics team, highlighted the team's Saturday night at the 2012 Big Ten Individual Event Finals with his first conference title as he was named co-champion on pommel horse with a 14.85 at Carver-Hawkeye Arena on the campus of University of Iowa. Echard, a 2012 Nissen-Emery Award Finalist, shared the title with Penn State's Craig Hernandez.

With his performance, Echard was named a First Team All-Big Ten honoree, while sophomore Misha Koudinov was selected to the second team.

Koudinov, a native of Auckland, New Zealand, started the competition for the Buckeyes on floor where he nailed an impressive set and earned a 15.20 to tie for third place with Michigan's Sam Mikulak. Koudinov went two for two on the day when he competed on parallel bars with a solid performance that earned a 15.05 and second place overall.

Senior Mike Behles was the lone Buckeye to qualify for rings where he tallied a 15.00 to place seventh. This was Behles' third appearance in the conference event finals.

In his second Big Ten championship event finals, redshirt-sophomore Michael Newburger earned a 13.95 on pommel horse for sixth place.

Also gaining valuable championship experience were freshmen Daniel Steiner and Larry Mayer. Steiner, who competed on floor exercise, earned a 15.10 to earn fifth place. Mayer was the lone Buckeye to qualify on vault where he tallied a 15.15 for fourth place.

2012 Big Ten Men's Gymnastics Championships
April 7, 2012
Major Award Winners
Gymnast of the Year
C.J. Maestas (Illinois)

Freshman of the Year
C.J. Maestas (Illinois)

Coach of the Year
Justin Spring (Illinois)

First Team All-Big Ten
Felix Aronovich (Penn State)
Adrian de Los Angelas (Michigan)
Ty Echard (Ohio State)
Craig Hernandez (Penn State)
C.J. Maestas (Illinois)
Sam Mikulak (Michigan)
Scott Rosenthal (Penn State)
Paul Ruggeri (Illinois)
Brodey Shemansky (Iowa)

Second Team All-Big Ten
Zach Chase (Minnesota)
Misha Koudinov (Ohio State)

Sportsmanship Honorees
Josh Wilson (Illinois)
Matt McGrath (Iowa)
Stacey Ervin (Michigan)
Andreas Hofer (Nebraska)
Misha Koudinov (Ohio State)
Scott Rosenthal (Penn State)

Final Individual Event Standings (Top 3)
1. Paul Ruggeri (Illinois)
2. C.J. Maestas (Illinois)
3. Misha Koudinov (Ohio State)
3. Sam Mikulak (Michigan)

Pommel Horse
1. Ty Echard (Ohio State)
1. Craig Hernandez (Penn State)
3. Eric Schryver (Nebraska)

1. Scott Rosenthal (Penn State)
2. C.J. Maestas (Illinois)
3. Nihir Kothari (Penn State)
3. Felix Aronovich (Penn State)

1. Paul Ruggeri (Illinois)
2. Zach Chase (Minnesota)
3. Stacey Ervin (Michigan)

Parallel Bars
1. Sam Mikulak (Michigan)
2. Misha Koudinov (Ohio State)
3. Paul Ruggeri (Illinois)

High Bar
1. Sam Mikulak (Michigan)
2. C.J. Maestas (Illinois)
3. Jordan Valdez (Illinois)