Five Buckeyes Compete at Big Ten Individual Event Finals
Danny Steiner

April 6, 2013

MINNEAPOLIS, MINN. – Five members of the No. 5 Ohio State men’s gymnastics team competed at the Big Ten Individual Event Finals Saturday night at the Sports Pavilion at the University of Minnesota. Senior John Laing, junior Misha Koudinov and sophomores Larry Mayer, Drew Moling and Danny Steiner represented the Buckeyes on four events.

Steiner, a native of Mesa, Ariz., opened the meet as the first competitor on floor exercise, setting the standard by tallying a 15.475 to finish in second place overall behind Michigan’s Stacey Ervin. In just his second Big Ten championship event finals, Steiner earned Second Team All-Big Ten honors.

Laing, a native of North Reading, Mass., closed out pommel horse as the last competitor on the event. He scored a 14.400 to finish in sixth place overall and earn a place on the podium.

On vault, Mayer tallied a 14.125 to finish the competition in eighth place, while Moling notched a 14.300 and Koudinov scored a 14.200 to finish in eighth and ninth place, respectively, on parallel bars.

Ohio State has a bye week before returning to postseason action at the NCAA Championships April 19-21 in Rec Hall at Penn State. Qualifying sessions will be held on Friday at 1 and 7 p.m., while the team and all-around competition will be held on Saturday at 7 p.m. and the individual championships will be held Sunday at 2 p.m.



2013 Big Ten Men's Gymnastics Championships
April 6, 2013
Major Award Winners

Gymnast of the Year

Sam Mikulak (Michigan)

Freshman of the Year

Trevor Howard (Penn State)

Coach of the Year

Kurt Golder (Michigan)

First Team All-Big Ten
Sam Mikulak (Michigan)
Adrian de los Angeles (Michigan)
Javier Balboa (Iowa)
Yoshi Mori (Illinois)
Felix Aronovich (Penn State)
Broderick Shemansky (Iowa)
Stacey Ervin (Michigan)
Craig Hernandez (Penn State)
Syque Caesar (Michigan)
Fred Hartville (Illinois)

Second Team All-Big Ten
Ellis Mannon (Minnesota)
Mike Wilner (Illinois)
Danny Steiner (Ohio State)
Louis Klein (Nebraska)

Sportsmanship Honorees
Logan Bradley (Illinois)
Eric Lofstrom (Iowa)
Stacey Ervin (Michigan)
Adam LaFleur (Minnesota)
Gabriel Jolley (Nebraska)
Drew Moling (Ohio State)
Scott Rosenthal (Penn State)

Final Individual Event Standings (Top 3)


1. Stacey Ervin (Michigan)

2. Danny Steiner (Ohio State)

3. Sam Mikulak (Michigan)

Pommel Horse

1. Craig Hernandez (Penn State)

2. Ellis Mannon (Minnesota)

3. Adrian Evans (Penn State)


1. Javier Balboa (Iowa)

2. Mike Wilner (Illinois)

3. Matt Freeman (Michigan)


1. Fred Hartville (Illinois)

2. Sam Mikulak (Michigan)

3. Grant Perdue (Nebraska)

Parallel Bars

1. Syque Caesar (Michigan)

2. Stacey Ervin (Michigan)

3. Sam Chamberlain (Nebraska)

High Bar

1. Sam Mikulak (Michigan)

2. Louis Klein (Nebraska)

3. Steve Jaciuk (Minnesota)