Ohio State's Devin Smith Wins GEICO Play of the Year
Devin Smith's incredible one-handed touchdown grab against Miami (OH) on September 1.

Nov. 23, 2012

To See the Play, visit: www.Facebook.com/BestOfCollegeFootball

CHICAGO - Ohio State sophomore wide receiver Devin Smith's incredible one-handed touchdown grab against Miami (OH) on September 1 was named GEICO Play of the Year, Intersport announced today. Smith's catch won week one voting and came out on top in the finals which featured our eight weekly winners. All eight were shown on GEICO Best of College Football 2012 earlier today on CBS.

In addition to recognizing the season's top plays, the one-hour CBS special relived the season's greatest moments, players and traditions. The show also marked the culmination of the GEICO "Best of 2012" Football Tour, an interactive fan experience that visited 30 marquee games throughout the football season.

For the past nine weeks, four show-stopping college football plays were nominated as the Play of the Year on the GEICO Best of College Football Facebook page (facebook.com/bestofcollegefootball). Eight weekly winners were determined by fan voting and competed in a week-long finals voting period which determined the 2012 GEICO Play of the Year.

Smith wasted no time creating a highlight-reel play for the Buckeyes this season. Early in the second quarter with Ohio State trailing 3-0, sophomore quarterback Braxton Miller dropped back from just outside the Miami (OH) 20-yard line. Miller lofted a pass toward Smith in the corner of the end zone; Smith leaped, fully extended his right hand over his head and controlled the ball while falling to his back. The touchdown gave Ohio State a lead they would not relinquish as they went on to beat the Red Hawks 56-10 for the first win in the Urban Meyer era. To view the play, go to: http://bit.ly/OdmJjG.



Smith's one-handed catch beat out these seven other weekly winners who finished in this order: Eastern Washington's Vernon Adams' tackle-breaking scramble and TD throw, Middle Tennessee's Anthony Amos' back-of-the-end-zone grab, UNLV's Taylor Barnhill's touchdown catch in heavy traffic, Louisiana Monroe's Kolton Browning's game-winning TD scramble, Wyoming's Jalen Claiborne's leaping snag, Ohio's Tyler Tettleton's successful trick play TD grab and Notre Dame's John Goodman's unbelievable touchdown catch.

To watch Smith's Play of the Year or any of the eight finalists, visit www.Facebook.com/BestOfCollegeFootball.