Miller an O'Brien QB Award Finalist
Braxton Miller is one of three finalists for the Davey O'Brien National QB Award.

Nov. 19, 2012

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Ohio State sophomore Braxton Miller is a finalist for the 2012 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award. The three finalists were named today by the Davey O'Brien Foundation and include senior Collin Klein of Kansas State and freshman Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M.

"I am very happy for Braxton," Ohio State head coach Urban Meyer said. "He is a young man who works hard all the time to improve as a player and to make his team better. This is a nice honor for the fine season he is having."

Miller has led the Buckeyes to an 11-0 record and a No. 4 national ranking by averaging 278.5 yards of offense per game, an average that is on pace to shatter the school record of 270.6 by Joe Germaine (1998) and ranks 34th nationally. He is also 19th nationally in rushing with 110.3 yards per game. Miller has completed 134 of 236 passes (56.8 pct.) for 1,850 yards with 14 touchdowns and six interceptions for a 137.12 efficiency rating. He has rushed for 1,214 yards to become only the third different Big Ten Conference quarterback to top 1,000 yards rushing. Miller also has:

  • 13 runs over 20 yards including sprints of 72, 67, 65, 55, 37, 27, 33, 33 and 31 yards this season;
  • Tied the school record with five games of 300 or more yards of total offense; 
  • Led Ohio State on 27 touchdown drives of 70 or more yards (after 10 total in 2011); and 
  • 27 touchdowns responsible for (13 rushing touchdowns and 14 passing) and needs just five to set a new school mark held by Troy Smith (31 in 2006).

    Fans may now help determine which quarterback will win the coveted Davey O'Brien Award by voting as often as once daily at Fan voting will close at noon (CT) on Dec. 2.

    The 2012 Davey O'Brien Winner will be revealed on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing live from the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney's BoardWalk at the Walt Disney World Resort on Thursday, Dec. 6 at 6:30 p.m. (CT).