Smith's Catch up for Play of the Year
Devin Smith's incredible one-handed grab against Miami (Ohio). Go Buckeyes!

Nov. 8, 2012

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Ohio State sophomore wide receiver Devin Smith's one-handed grab against Miami (Ohio) September 1 is a finalist for the 2012 GEICO Play of the Year, Intersport announced Monday. For eight weeks, fans voted for the GEICO Play of the Year and the eight winners will be shown on GEICO Best of College Football 2012 on CBS Nov. 23 at 1:30 p.m. ET.

In addition to recognizing the season's top plays, the one-hour CBS special relives the season's greatest moments, players and traditions. The show also marks the culmination of the GEICO "Best of 2012" Football Tour, an interactive fan experience that visits 30 marquee games throughout the football season.

For the past eight weeks, four show-stopping college football plays were nominated as the Play of the Year on the GEICO Best of College Football Facebook page ( Winners were determined by fan voting and will now compete in the finals to determine the play of the 2012 GEICO Play of the Year. All eight plays will be shown on GEICO Best of College Football on CBS in a countdown format.

Early in the second quarter with Ohio State trailing, 3-0, against the RedHawks, sophomore quarterback Braxton Miller lofted a pass toward Smith in the corner of the end zone; Smith leaped, fully extended his right hand over his head and controlled the ball while falling to his back. The touchdown was Ohio State’s first touchdown in the Urban Meyer era. To view the play, go to:

Smith’s one-handed catch is competing against seven other weekly winners, including: a game-winning TD scramble by Louisiana Monroe’s Kolton Browning, an unbelievable touchdown grab by Notre Dame’s John Goodman, a leaping snag by Wyoming’s Jalen Claiborne, a back-of-the-end-zone grab by Middle Tennessee’s Anthony Amos, a touchdown catch in heavy traffic by UNLV’s Taylor Barnhill, a successful trick play TD grab by Ohio’s quarterback, Tyler Tettleton and a tackle-breaking scramble and TD throw by Eastern Washington’s Vernon Adams.



To watch and vote for Smith or any of the finalists, visit Fans can vote once a day. Voting for the finals is now open and ends Monday, Nov. 12 at 11:59 a.m. CT.