Ohio State's John Simon Named Lott Impact Trophy Quarter-Finalist
Senior defensive lineman John Simon

Oct. 23, 2012

NEWPORT BEACH, Ca. - Ohio State's John Simon has been named a quarter-finalist for the 2012 Lott IMPACT Trophy, it was announced today.

The Lott IMPACT Trophy is named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott and honors the student-athlete who has the biggest IMPACT on his team on and off the field. IMPACT is an acronym for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

Semi-finalists for the award will be announced Nov. 13 and four finalists Nov. 28. The four finalists will be invited to the Ninth Annual Lott IMPACT Trophy Awards Ceremony in Newport Beach Dec. 9.

This year's keynote speaker will be Dr. Condoleezza Rice.

2012 Lott IMPACT Trophy Quarter-Finalists

    Johnthan Banks, CB, Mississippi State
    Anthony Barr, LB, UCLA
    Chris Borland, LB, Wisconsin
    Arthur Brown, LB, Kansas State
    Max Bullough, LB, Michigan State
    Travis Johnson, DE, San Jose State
    Jarvis Jones, LB, Georgia
    Jake Knott, LB, Iowa State
    Star Lotulelei, DT, Utah
    Brandon Magee, LB, Arizona State
    T.J. McDonald, S, USC
    Sam Montgomery, DE, LSU
    J.C. Percy, LB, Boise State
    Eric Reid, S, LSU
    John Simon, DT, Ohio State
    Mike Taylor, LB, Wisconsin
    Manti Te'o, LB, Notre Dame
    Chase Thomas, LB, Stanford
    Bjoern Werner, DT, Florida State
    Jesse Williams, DT, Alabama

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy

    2004 - David Pollack, Georgia
    2005 - DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
    2006 - Dante Hughes, Cal
    2007 - Glenn Dorsey, LSU
    2008 - James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
    2009 - Jerry Hughes, TCU
    2010 - J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
    2011 - Luke Kuechly, Boston College