Congratulations Cris Carter

Aug. 4, 2013

2013 NFL Hall of Famer, Cris Carter

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Ohio State wide receiver Cris Carter, who starred for the Ohio State Buckeyes from 1984-86 and then played 16 years in the National Football League, was enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame Saturday. He is the seventh Ohio State player and the 10th individual with Ohio State ties to become an NFL Hall of Famer.

Carter, who played with the Philadelphia Eagles, Minnesota Vikings and Miami Dolphins, recorded 1,101 catches for 13,899 yards and 130 touchdowns during his NFL career. His receptions and touchdown totals each ranked second in NFL history when he retired from the game.

Carter recorded eight consecutive 1,000-yard seasons, had 42 career games with 100 or more receiving yards and was selected to eight consecutive Pro Bowls from 1994-2001. He was named all-pro in 1994 and 1999.

A member of the NFL's All-Decade Team of the 1990s, Carter had 10 or more touchdowns in a season six times and he led the NFL in receiving touchdowns three times (1995, 1997, and 1999). He recorded 70 or more catches in a season 10 times.

One of the game's most prolific receivers was also one of its most durable. He played full 16-game seasons in 13 of his 16 years.

Carter, who played for coach Earle Bruce and was part of two Big Ten championship teams (1984 and 1986), held Ohio State career records for receptions (168) and touchdowns (27), and single season marks for receptions (69 in 1986), yards (1,127 in 1986) and touchdowns (11 in 1986) at the conclusion of his Ohio State career. He still ranks second in career receptions and touchdowns and fourth in receiving yards (2,725). Carter's five consecutive games with 100-plus yards receiving in 1986 is still an Ohio State record.

Joining Carter in the Class of 2013 are guard/tackle Larry Allen, defensive tackle Curley Culp, tackle Jonathan Ogden, coach Bill Parcells, linebacker Dave Robinson and defensive tackle Warren Sapp. They will be formally enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday, Aug. 3, 2013. The Enshrinement Ceremony takes place at Fawcett Stadium in Canton and will be televised live by both NFL Network and ESPN.

Carter is proceeded in the NFL Hall of Fame by former Buckeye players Dick LeBeau (Class of 2010 enshrinee), Paul Warfield (1993), Bill Willis (1977), Dante Lavelli (1975), Lou Groza (1974) and Jim Parker (1973). Ohio State coaches Sid Gillman (1983) and Paul Brown (1967), and 1930s-era swimmer Ed Sabol, enshrined in 2011 for his work with NFL Films, are also in the Hall of Fame.

Buckeyes in the Pro Football Hall of Fame

IndividualPositionClassYears at OSU
Cris CarterReceiver20131984-86
Dick LeBeauCornerback20101956-58
Paul WarfieldReceiver19931961-63
Bill WillisGuard19771942-44
Dante LavelliEnd19751942
Lou GrozaKicker19741943
Jim ParkerGuard/Tackle19731954-56
Sid GillmanCoach19831938-40
Paul BrownCoach19671941-43
Ed SabolContributor2011mid-1930s

Most Pro Football Hall of Famers (by College)
USC - 11
Notre Dame - 10
*Ohio State - 9
Michigan - 8
Pittsburgh - 8
Alabama - 8
Syracuse - 7
Illinois - 6
Miami, Florida - 6
Minnesota - 6

*The Pro Football Hall of Fame recognizes coach Paul Brown as a Miami (Ohio) inductee.