Craft Among Finalists for Bob Cousy Award
Aaron Craft

Dec. 19, 2011

SPRINGFIELD, Mass.-The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts announced today the candidates for the 2012 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award. The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in college basketball. Almost 60 candidates have been nominated for the 2012 Bob Cousy Award.

"The Hall of Fame is honored to be working with Mr. Cousy once again to present this prestigious award," said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. "The list of candidates include the top players from across the country that have shown the same leadership, hard work and determination that Mr. Cousy exemplified on the court for many years. We are excited to honor his legacy with the winner of this year's award."

"Bob was an extraordinary all-around basketball player, he was a fierce competitor and a great leader," said Ken Kaufman, Chair of the Bob Cousy Award and former president of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). "With this award we want to continue to honor his legacy and make certain that the best collegiate point guards are appropriately recognized."

This original list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final twenty by January 1st, final ten by February 1st, and final five by March 1st. A premier Selection Committee will be appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the final five candidates in contention for the nation's top collegiate point guard award. These Hall of Fame committees are made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2012 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the Hall of Fame's Class Announcement on Championship Monday in New Orleans as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph's), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland) and last year's recipient Kemba Walker (Connecticut).  For more information on the 2012 Bob Cousy, log onto




About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame:

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the Birthplace of Basketball, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level - professional, collegiate, men and women.

2012 Bob Cousy Award Candidates


Randy Davis                                Ball State

Pierre Jackson                            Baylor

Keegan Bell                                 Chattanooga

Andre Young                               Clemson

Andrew Lawrence                       College of Charleston

Brian Barbour                              Columbia

Shabazz Napier                           Connecticut

Chris Wroblewski                        Cornell

Antoine Young                             Creighton

JP Kuhlman                                 Davidson

Ray McCallum                            Detroit

Seth Curry                                   Duke

TJ McConnell                              Duquesne

Kenny Boynton                            Florida

Erving Walker                              Florida

Luke Loucks                                Florida State

Jeff Peterson                               Florida State

Tony Taylor                                 George Washington

James Fields                               Georgia State

Brandyn Curry                             Harvard

Scott Machado                            Iona

Stephen Thomas                         IUPUI

Tyshawn Taylor                           Kansas

Marquis Teague                          Kentucky

Tyreek Duren                              La Salle

Mackey McKnight                       Lehigh

Casper Ware                               Long Beach State

Peyton Siva                                 Louisville

Damier Pitts                                 Marshall

Will Barton                                   Memphis

Joe Jackson                                Memphis

Malcolm Grant                            Miami

Trey Burke                                  Michigan

Kaylon Williams                           Milwaukee

Dee Bost                                      Mississippi State

Mike Dixon                                  Missouri

Will Cherry                                   Montana

Kendall Williams                          New Mexico

Kendall Marshall                          North Carolina

Lorenzo Brown                            NC State

Stallon Saldivar                           Northern Arizona

Reggie Hamilton                          Oakland

Aaron Craft                                  Ohio State

D.J. Cooper                                 Ohio University

Jared Cunningham                      Oregon State

Tim Frazier                                  Penn State

Zack Rosen                                 Pennsylvania

Ashton Gibbs                               Pittsburgh

Lewis Jackson                             Purdue

Bryan Dougher                            Stony Brook University

Scoop Jardine                             Syracuse

Brandon Triche                            Syracuse

Wil Peters                                    Tennessee State

Myck Kabongo                            Texas

Dash Harris                                 Texas A&M

Hank Thorns                                TCU

Will Weathers                              Troy

Brad Tinsley                                Vanderbilt

Maalik Wayns                              Villanova

Erick Green                                 Virginia Tech

Abdul Gaddy                               Washington

Tony Wroten                                Washington

Trey Sumler                                Western Carolina

Jordan Taylor                              Wisconsin

Tu Holloway                                 Xavier