Craft On USBWA Watch List for Oscar Robertson Trophy
Aaron Craft, Ohio State's all-time steals leader with 248.

Nov. 5, 2013

Related Info

COLUMBUS, Ohio--Ohio State senior guard Aaron Craft is one of 15 players nationally to make the United States Basketball Writers Association watch list for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, given annually to the organization’s national player of the year selection.

Craft, one of seven seniors and four players from the Big Ten Conference, is a preseason All-Big Ten selection for the No. 11-ranked Buckeyes.

Craft has been part of 94 victories at Ohio State over the first three seasons of his career. All three teams have advanced to the NCAA “Sweet 16” with the 2012 squad advancing to the Final Four and the 2013 team making it to the “Elite Eight.” The Buckeyes have won two regular-season Big Ten titles and a pair of league tournament crowns with Craft at the point guard position.  

Individually, Craft already owns the Ohio State record for career steals (248) and single-season steals (98 in 2011-12). He is currently No. 2 in career assists with 530 behind Jamar Butler (579 from 2005-08).

Evan Turner was the last Buckeye to earn the USBWA honor (2010). Jerry Lucas also claimed the award for Ohio State in both 1961 and 1962.

The Buckeyes open the 2012-13 season at noon Saturday vs. Morgan State at Value City Arena.