Big Ten Opponent Breakdown Set for 2018-19
April 19, 2018

RELATED INFO: Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram 
Big Ten Release 

COLUMBUS, Ohio—The Big Ten Conference announced the 2018-19 men’s basketball conference opponent breakdown Monday.

The regular-season league champion will be determined following a 20-game conference schedule beginning in 2018-19.

Ohio State will play Illinois, Purdue, Rutgers, Maryland, Iowa, Michigan State and Northwestern both in Columbus and on the road (home and home) in 2018-19.

The Buckeyes travel only to Indiana, Michigan and Nebraska. Minnesota, Penn State and Wisconsin will play Ohio State in Columbus only.

The Big Ten Conference champion was determined following a consistent 12-game league schedule from 1920 to 1950. The league schedule went to 14 games from 1951 to 1974 and then to 18 games from 1975 to 1997.

The conference dropped to a 16-game schedule from 1998 to 2007. The league champion has been determined following an 18-game schedule from 2008 through last season (2018).

Ohio State has won 20 Big Ten Conference men’s basketball regular-season championships in its history. The first was in 1925 (11-1).




Ohio State’s Big Ten Championships by Length of Conference Season

12-game (1925, 1933, 1939. 1944, 1946, 1950)

14-game (1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1968, 1971)

16-game (2006, 2007)

18 game (1991, 1992, 2010, 2011, 2012)