USBWA Names Sullinger a 2011-12 All-American
2012 USBWA All-American Jared Sullinger

March 12, 2012

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) – Ten standout players representing seven conferences have been selected to the 2011-12 U.S. Basketball Writers Association All-America Team. The first team consists of five forwards, as the USBWA selects the nation's top five players regardless of position. Ohio State sophomore Jared Sullinger, last season's winner of the Wayman Tisdale Award as the National Freshman of the Year, is the lone repeat selection.

Sullinger is joined by freshman phenom Anthony Davis of Kentucky, was has led the Wildcats to the No. 1 overall seed in the NCAA Tournament. Michigan State senior Draymond Green sparked the Spartans to the Big Ten tournament title and a No. 1 seed, while Creighton's sharp-shooting sophomore Doug McDermott and Kansas' junior upstart Thomas Robinson have also earned first team honors.

The second team consists of Murray State junior guard Isaiah Canaan, Missouri senior guard Marcus Denmon, West Virginia senior forward Kevin Jones, Kentucky freshman forward Michael Kidd-Gilchrist and North Carolina senior forward Tyler Zeller.

The Big Ten, Big 12 and SEC each boast a pair of All-Americans. Other conferences represented on the All-America team are the ACC, Big East, Missouri Valley and Ohio Valley.

Each of the first-team selections is among the Oscar Robertson Trophy finalists. The USBWA's National Player of the Year Award, as well as the Henry Iba Award, presented to the National Coach of the Year, will be announced next Monday, March 19. Both prestigious awards will be formally presented on Friday, March 30, at the 2012 USBWA College Basketball Awards Breakfast at the New Orleans Marriott in conjunction with the NCAA Men's Final Four.

Following is the complete 2011-12 USBWA All-America team:

First Team Pos. Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
Anthony Davis, Kentucky F 6-10 220 Fr. Chicago, Ill.
4th Kentucky All-American since 2008-09 (19th Kentucky player selected as an All-American)
Draymond Green, Michigan State F 6-7 230 Sr. Saginaw, Mich.
First Michigan State All-American since 2000-01 (Jason Richardson, 2nd team) and 8th overall
Doug McDermott, Creighton F 6-7 220 So. Ames, Iowa
First first-team All-American from Creighton (Kyle Korver earned 2nd team in 2002-03)
Thomas Robinson, Kansas F 6-10 237 Jr. Washington, D.C.
7th Kansas All-American since 2001-02 (14th Kansas player selected as an All-American)
Jared Sullinger, Ohio State F 6-9 280 So. Columbus, Ohio
4th Ohio State player to earn back-to-back honors (Jerry Lucas, Jimmy Jackson, Scoonie Penn)
Second Team Pos. Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State G 6-0 193 Jr. Biloxi, Miss.
First All-America selection from Murray State (2nd straight from Ohio Valley Conference)
Marcus Denmon, Missouri G 6-3 185 Sr. Kansas City, Mo.
Fifth Missouri selection and first since 1993-94 (Melvin Booker, 2nd Team)
Kevin Jones, West Virginia F 6-8 260 Sr. Mount Vernon, N.Y.
Fourth player and fifth selection from West Virginia; first since 1962-63 (Rod Thorn)
Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, Kentucky F 6-7 232 Fr. Somerdale, N.J.
3rd Kentucky freshman since 2009-10 to earn All-America honors (John Wall, Anthony Davis)
Tyler Zeller, North Carolina F 7-0 250 Sr. Washington, Ind.
26th North Carolina player honored by USBWA and first since 2008-09 (Tyler Hansbrough)



The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season.

Ohio State All-Time USBWA All-Americans
1957 - Frank Howard, Ohio State
1960 - Jerry Lucas, Ohio State
1961 - Jerry Lucas, Ohio State
1961 - Larry Siegfried, Ohio State
1962 - John Havlicek, Ohio State
1962 - Jerry Lucas, Ohio State
1964 - Gary Bradds, Ohio State
1980 - Kelvin Ransey, Ohio State
1987 (2) - Dennis Hopson, Ohio State
1991 - Jimmy Jackson, Ohio State
1992 - Jimmy Jackson, Ohio State
1999 (2) - Scoonie Penn, Ohio State
2000 (2) - Scoonie Penn, Ohio State
2007 (2) - Greg Oden, C, Ohio State, Fr.
201 - Evan Turner, G/F, Ohio State, Jr.
2011 - Jared Sullinger, F, Ohio State, Fr.
2012 - Jared Sullinger, F, Ohio State, So.

(2) Second Team