Bates-Diop Named AP Second Team All-American, Becomes 27th Consensus All-American in Program History
March 6, 2018

RELATED INFO: Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram | 2017-18 Schedule 

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- 
Junior Keita Bates-Diop added another accolade to his resume, earning Associated Press second team All-America honors Tuesday. With the honor, Bates-Diop becomes the 27th consensus All-American in program history.

Bates-Diop, who last week was named an NABC second team All-American, is the USBWA District V Player of the Year while Ohio State's Chris Holtmann, the 2018 Big Ten Coach of the Year, was named the District V Coach of the Year.



For more on the 2018 USBWA District Players and Coaches of the Year click HERE.

The Sporting News All-America Teams were announced earlier this month. Bates-Diop was selected to the SN Second Team All-America squad.

For more on The Sporting News All-America Teams click HERE.

The last Buckeye to be named an All-American was D'Angelo Russell in 2015. He was a consensus first team All-American.

The Sporting News along with the Associated Press, the National Association of Basketball Coaches and the USBWA are the current organizations who select consensus All-America teams. Ohio State's last second team consensus All-Americans were Greg Oden in 2007 and Scoonie Penn in 2000. Both Oden (student assistant coach) and Penn (director of player development) are current members of the Ohio State basketball staff.

Evan Turner (2010), Jared Sullinger (2011, 2012) and Russell were Ohio State's most recent consensus first team All-Americans.

In addition to the recent honors, Bates-Diop was placed on the 2018 National Ballot for the John R. Wooden Award. He is one of 15 players named to the ballot.

For more on the Wooden Award click HERE.

A native of Normal, Illinois, Bates-Diop led Ohio State with 19.8 points per game and 8.7 rebounds per contest. Bates-Diop scored in double figures in 32 of 34 contests, helping Ohio State to a 25-9 record and an appearance in the second round of the NCAA Tournament.