Thomas A Finalist for Oscar Robertson Trophy
Deshaun Thomas

March 4, 2013

Full Release


ST. LOUIS (USBWA) - The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected 14 outstanding players as finalists for its 2013 Oscar Robertson National Player of the Year Trophy presented by Aflac and eight standout freshmen as finalists for the Integris Wayman Tisdale Award. Members of the association's board of directors chose the finalists and the entire 900-member USBWA will vote on the awards as well as the annual All-America and All-District teams.

The recipients are to be announced on Friday, April 5 in Atlanta at a 9:15 a.m. ET press conference and then formally presented at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards on Mon., April 15 at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City. The Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award will also be presented at the gala to be held annually the Monday following the NCAA Men's Final Four.

Following are the finalsts for the Oscar Robertson National Player of the Year Trophy:

Pos., Player, School, Ht., Wt., Yr., Hometown
F Anthony Bennett, UNLV, 6-8, 240, Fr., Brampton, Ont.
G Trey Burke, Michigan, 6-0, 190, So., Columbus, Ohio
G Michael Carter-Williams, Syracuse, 6-6, 185, So., Hamilton, Mass.
F Doug McDermott, Creighton, 6-8, 225, Jr., Ames, Iowa
G Ben McLemore, Kansas, 6-5, 195, Fr., St. Louis, Mo.
G Victor Oladipo, Indiana, 6-5, 214, Jr., Upper Marlboro, Md.
F Kelly Olynyk, Gonzaga, 7-0, 238, Jr., Kamloops, B.C.
F Mason Plumlee, Duke, 6-10, 235, Sr., Warsaw, Ind.
F Otto Porter, Georgetown, 6-8, 205, So., Sikeston, Mo.
G Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State, 6-4, 225, Fr., Flower Mount, Texas
G Russ Smith, Louisville, 6-0, 165, Jr., Brooklyn, N.Y.
F Deshaun Thomas, Ohio State, 6-7, 215, Jr., Fort Wayne, Ind.
C Jeff Withey, Kansas, 7-0, 235, Sr., San Diego, Calif.
F Cody Zeller, Indiana, 7-0, 240, So., Washington, Ind.