Cheerleading: Judy Bunting Receives UCA Outstanding Administrator Award

Go Buckeyes!
Go Buckeyes!

Go Buckeyes!

Ohio State cheerleading coach Judy Bunting is this year's recipient of the Universal Cheerleaders Association Outstanding Administrator Award. 

 Named in honor of Colonel Gene Moeller from the University of Tennessee, this award is presented annually to recognize a university administrator who has made a significant impact on their university's spirit groups at the collegiate level.

For over 21 years Judy Bunting has helped develop a spirit program, recognized by many, to represent the "All American" collegiate image universities desire their program to emulate. Her team members have represented the best that Ohio State University can offer by retaining the values and focus of a spirit team created to support both the athletic teams at OSU, as well as it's university family of students, administrators and alumni.

Bunting has been head coach of the Ohio State cheerleaders since 1987. Under her leadership the program has become crowd-oriented and competitive. This year the Ohio State cheerleaders qualified for the national championship by winning the Northeast Region for the 19th time in the last 21 years, including a national championship in 1993 and a second-place finish in 2001. Bunting cheered at Ohio State from 1971-74 and is a member of American Association of Cheerleading Coaches and Advisors.

Through Colonel Moeller’s work on behalf of the University of Tennessee’s cheerleaders, dance team, and mascots, their programs evolved to define the ideal model of a collegiate cheerleading program helping to embody a model program the university administration, it's students, fans and alumni alike to look towards with pride and appreciation. Each year at the College Cheerleading and Dance Team National Championship in Orlando, Florida, Universal Cheerleaders Association and Universal Dance Association present this award to a university administrator who has similarly affected their school’s spirit programs. Previous winners include Joy Postell from the University of Tennessee (2005), T. Lynn Williamson from the University of Kentucky (2006), and Debbie Greenwell from the University of Alabama (2007).

For further comment, please contact John White, UCA Director of College Programs at (901) 229-0184.