Cheerleaders Set To Compete At Nationals

Go Buckeyes!
Go Buckeyes!

Go Buckeyes!

Jan. 7, 2002

Columbus, Ohio- The Ohio State University Cheerleading squad travels to Orlando, Fla. this weekend to compete at the 2002 College Cheerleading National Championship at Walt Disney World. The squad will arrive in Orlando Wednesday and compete Saturday night. The competition, televised nationally by ESPN, will air in March.

Ohio State won the East region of the college Universal Cheerleaders Association by ways of a qualifying videotape in November. They have now won the east region 12 of the past 15 years. The Buckeyes were victorious over all other schools in the east region including Kent State, Penn State, Cincinnati, Villanova, Syracuse and Connecticut.

By placing first in their region the Buckeyes receive an all-expense paid bid to the competition. The squad also receives an automatic bid to the final round of the competition Saturday night.

The Buckeyes have been on an upward trend the past few years. After a 12th place finish in 1998 and '99, the squad rebounded in 2000 to finish sixth and bested that mark in 2001 by finishing second to national power, Kentucky. The Buckeyes last won the national title in 1993.

Head choreographer Eddie Hollins feels very good about the 2002 squad and is confident they will be able to maintain its recent success.

"We have a very unique and talented squad this year," Hollins said. "We have excellent veteran leadership to compliment our young talent. I would love for us to place somewhere in the top three. More importantly, I want us to hit our routine as best we can and let the pieces fall as they may. The last time Ohio State hit its routine without any mistakes or falls was back in 1993 when we won the national championship. All we have to do is hit our routine and not worry about what the other schools do."

Members of the Nationals squad include co-captains Jennifer Barr and Tim Pike, Katy Adcock, Patrick Fogarty, Mike Fresch, Michelle Fultz, Joe Jackson, Alan Ray, Amy Hawkins, Tyler Houchin, Andy Masters, Chris Ove, Katie Pahl, Tim Pike, Paul Schlitz, Candice Shubert and Paul Tapaszi.