NCAA Field Set

Go Buckeyes! Amanda Furrer
Go Buckeyes!
Amanda Furrer
Go Buckeyes!

Feb. 23, 2012

Indianapolis, Indiana - The NCAA Rifle Committee has announced the teams and individuals for the 2012 National Collegiate Men's and Women's Rifle Championship.

Hosted by Ohio State, the championships will be held March 9-10 at the Converse Hall and French Field House on the Ohio State campus in Columbus, Ohio.

The eight schools competing for the team title are: Alaska-Fairbanks, Army, Jacksonville State, Kentucky, Nevada, UTEP, TCU and West Virginia.

The top eight teams in both the smallbore three-position and air rifle events were selected based on the average of the three highest regular-season aggregate scores with no more than one match at any given site. The average of the three highest scores was added to the aggregate scores from the designated qualifiers to determine the top eight teams.

A total of 48 competitors will compete in the championships, with 40 competitors coming from the team rosters submitted by the eight teams selected Wednesday. The remaining eight competitors were selected based on the scores submitted from the designated qualifier, Individual competitors include:

Smallbore: Dani Foster (North Carolina State); Katie Fretts (Kentucky); Amanda Furrer (Ohio State); Daniel Hermsmeier (Memphis);

Air Rifle: Kelsey Emme (Murray State); Abbey Stanec (Mississippi); Keely Stankey (Mississippi); Zachary Wells (Army)

Individual and team competitions in smallbore three-position (60 shots) will be held Friday, March 9. Individual and team competitions in air rifle (60 shots) will be held Saturday, March 10. The overall team champion will be determined by combining the smallbore and air rifle team total scores into one aggregate score for each institution.