Ohio State Fencing Kicks Off Season With OSU Open and OSU Duals
Oct. 13, 2016

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State Fencing Team opens the 2015-2016 season with the annual OSU Open and OSU Duals this weekend. OSU Open, an individual competition for fencers at the college level or above, will take place on Saturday beginning at 9 a.m. OSU Duals, a team competition in round robin format, will take place on Sunday beginning at 8 a.m. in French Field House. Admission to the event is free and a full schedule can be found below.

The Buckeyes look to extend their sweep-streak to 13 consecutive years at OSU Duals. Typically, the event is an opportunity to showcase the team’s younger talent, which includes 13 freshmen this year.

Ohio State will host 12 teams, including Michigan, Iowa, Toledo, Bowling Green, Michigan State, Xavier, Purdue, Case Western, Cleveland State, Oakland, Illinois and Oberlin.

At last year’s OSU Open, Buckeyes claimed the top spots in every weapon category. Marc-Antoine Blais Belanger (ME), Stas Sudilovsky (MF), Frederik Koch (MS), Eugenia Falqui (WE), Mona Shaito (WF) and Celina Merza (WS) all went undefeated to earn first place at the event.

The Buckeyes swept the competition at last year’s Duals, 8-0. The women’s squad recorded a bout-record of 198-19 and the men notched a record of 189-27. The women’s foil unit led the way with undefeated performances from Eleanor Harvey, Nina Stackhouse and Caira Moreira-Brown. Alexa Antipas suffered only one loss for the women’s sabre unit, totaling a record of 23-1. The men’s sabre unit featured 20-point performances from Anurup Krishna and John Lazzari, helping the unit to a 63-9 bout-record. Men’s foilists Nicola Sirito and James Hu both garnered undefeated records contributing to the unit’s 67 points overall.

Following OSU Duals and OSU Open, the Buckeyes will head to Philadelphia for the Elite Invitational on Nov. 5.

8:00-9:30 a.m. 9:30-10:30 a.m. 10:30-11:30 a.m. 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
Zone 1 Michigan-Iowa Toledo-BGSU MSU-Xavier Michigan-Purdue
Zone 3 CSU-MSU Iowa-Purdue Oberlin-Illinois Iowa-CWRU
Zone 4 Purdue-Oakland Oberlin-CSU Toledo-CWRU Xavier-Illinois
Zone 5 BGSU-Xavier Michigan-Illinois CSU-Oakland Toledo-Oberlin
Off Toledo Xavier Iowa Bowling Green
Off Illinois Case Western Michigan Michigan State
Off Oberlin Oakland Purdue Cleveland State

LUNCH 12:30-1:30 p.m.

1:00-2:00 p.m. 2:00-3:00 p.m. 3:00-4:00 p.m. 4:00-5:00 p.m.
Zone 1 MSU-Purdue MSU-BGSU CSU-Iowa Xavier-Toledo
Zone 2 OSU-CSU OSU-Michigan OSU-Toledo OSU-Illinois
Zone 3 Michigan-BGSU CWRU-Xavier MSU-Illinois CSU-Michigan
Zone 4 Iowa-Illinois Iowa-Oakland CWRU-Oberlin CWRU-Purdue
Zone 5 Oakland-Oberlin Toledo-Purdue Xavier Oakland BGSU-Oberlin
Off Toledo Illinois Bowling Green Iowa
Off Xavier Cleveland Michigan Oakland
Off Case Western Oberlin Purdue Michigan State