Diaz, Minagawa Named Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients
May 12, 2016

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference office announced its annual postgraduate scholarship recipients on Thursday. Two students competing in intercollegiate athletics from each of the 14 Big Ten institutions who plan to continue their education at a graduate degree program were each awarded a $7,500 scholarship, based on primarily academic achievements.

This year’s recipients span 20 different sports and will continue their education in a variety of different disciplines, including aerospace engineering, astrophysics, biochemistry, economics, forensics, genetics, medicine, public health administration, physiology and psychology.

Ohio State’s two recipients are Chris Diaz of the men’s tennis team and Minori Minagawa of the women’s cross country and track and field team.

One of the leaders on the men's tennis team, Diaz is a three-time All-Big Ten selection, including a unanimous first team selection in 2015. He qualified for the NCAA singles championship in 2015 and was one match away from earning All-American status. A two-time team captain, Diaz has led the Buckeyes to four Big Ten regular season crowns and three tournament titles and was a key member of the Buckeyes' first ITA National Indoor Championship team. Diaz graduated with a degree in neuroscience and plans to attend medical school next year. He is a four-time Big Ten Distinguished Scholar and an ITA Scholar-Athlete. He also serves on the organizing committee for the Mary Diaz Memorial Tennis Tournament which has raised over $60,000 for pancreatic cancer research.

A four-year letterwinner in cross country and track and field, Minori Minagawa graduated from The Ohio State University May 8 with a 4.0 GPA in exercise science. A walk-on for the Buckeyes out of high school, she has excelled both in the classroom and in athletic competition during her four seasons in Columbus. Minagawa, a native of Dublin, Ohio, is four-time Big Ten-championship participant and a 2014 NCAA-championship qualifier in cross country, as well as a two-time regional qualifier, five-time Big Ten-championship participant and Top 5 all-time performer in the 10k at Ohio State on the track. Academically, she is a two-time Big Ten Distinguished Scholar, USTFCCCA Academic All-American, three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection and a four-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete. In 2016, she was a semifinalist for the Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar award and the overall sport winner for women's track and field.

Each Big Ten institution developed its own on-campus selection process when awarding the scholarship. Students must have maintained at least a 3.2 grade-point-average, demonstrated leadership qualities, served as an excellent role model and intended to continue their academic work beyond their baccalaureate degree at a graduate degree program.  

The scholarship will be used to pay expenses of the student’s postgraduate education to include such related activities as research and teaching, as well as other expenses such as tuition, fees, room and board, required course-related supplies and books. In order to retain the scholarship, the recipient must be accepted into a full-time graduate degree program within three years from the fall semester after selection.  

The complete list of 2015-16 Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship recipients can be found below.